We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Heyworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2008

This was our first stay at a B&B. What a wonderful experience. Hospitality, comfort, relaxing and a beautiful surrounding. Breakfast was outstanding each morning. We will be going back next year. Thanks to Cheryl and Carmine for a great weekend get away.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TuffENuff99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    48
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
36
529
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, IA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

Very nice rooms, the breakfast was wonderful! The owners were great hosts, helped with dinner reservations. The grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed the gazebo at night. It is a bit of a walk to the center of town, but easy to do.

  • Liked — the beauty of the house
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

This is our favorite place for a quick, romantic getaway. Carmine and Cheryl's hospitality is fabulous, the gourmet breakfast is outstanding and we always leave feeling rejuvinated and pampered. We spent our wedding night here, and then returned for our 5 Year Anniversary. We cannot wait until our 10th anniversary . . . we'll return for our 6th!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank ReuscherRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte City, IA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

The house is beautiful and elegant. Carmine and Cheryl are two of the best hostesses that you could ask for. Our room was amazing with the fire place and the hot tub built for two and the breakfast each morning was to die for! If you love down to earth people and want a relaxing getaway, we highly recommend staying at the Cloran Mansion. We plan on going back as soon as we can!

  • Liked — Our bedroom/bathroom
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TaylorLaPorteCity_IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Cloran Mansion this past weekend and had a wonderful experience.

Sarah's Suite was so comfortable and well appointed. The room was spacious and very pleasant. Attention to detail was wonderful. The bed was very large and comfortable, with good qualitiy linens. The bathroom was very large and was supplied with everything you could wish for. Even the smallest details were taken care of.

The grounds were amazing, and even though it rained throughout our entire weekend here, we spent much time in the gazebo, and enjoyed the outdoors inspite of the weather. The grounds are very beautiful and suit the mansion perfectly.

We really enjoyed the reading material supplied in the library, especially the historical books on Galena and the area. It allowed us to know the history of the area and the homes we viewed in town and added to the enjoyment!

The location is wonderful, a bit away from the downtown area so it is quiet and serene.

I must say, the highlight of the experience was Cheryl and Carmen. They are the most gracious hosts! They make you feel so at home and comfortable. They had awesome knowledge of the area and of the history of Galena. The breakfasts they provide are truley amazing! As one who doesn't ever eat breakfast, I loved it! It was so filling! We walked for miles and hiked all over during the day, and didn't even feel hungry until dinner time. (BTW-Thank you for the standing 630pm dinner reservation for Fried Green Tomatos!)

It was a lovely weekend and one which we will not soon forget!

Thank you again!
Jim and Kris May
Marion Ia

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gatwytvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

We just returned from Galena, Illinois where we stayed at the Cloran Mansion Bed and Breakfast.
We were upgraded at no additional charge to a more spacious room with a jacuzzi tub and fireplace. We had mentioned that we were celebrating a wedding anniversary and when we returned from dinner that evening there was a complementary bottle of wine in our room, two wine flutes, and a beautiful personalized card.
The breakfasts each morning were some of the best we have ever had at a B&B!
The Cloran Mansion has central air and a lounge room with hundreds of DVD's. The owners are friendly and helpful and the rooms are reasonably priced.The web site is very complete with pictures and details of each room.
All in all, this was one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in with every amenity one could want.
We heartily recommend it!

  • Liked — Friendly hosts, beautiful building and rooms, many amenties.
  • Disliked — Long staircase.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MadTravelers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis Junction, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2008

My wife and I stayed for three nights for our anniversary. The experience was nothing but fantastic. We had an emergency at home before we left and so were going to be late for check in time. No problem. I was a little worried about taking my Harley. No problem. They even let me keep it in the garage. Carmine and Cheryl were terrific hosts and very friendly. Outstanding! Thanks, Carmine and Cheryl.

David and Stephanie Buzzo

  • Liked — The service and friendly attitude of hosts
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank freezeback32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1237 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloran Mansion is a luxurious Galena, Illinois bed and breakfast inn and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing