We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We went to Galena and the Cloran Mansion for a quick get away. Carmine and Cheryl (the owners), could not have been friendlier or more helpful. They helped us pick out a wonderful place for dinner in Iowa on Saturday evening.

The room we stayed in had a warm feeling and had more than we needed, including a dish of candy by the bedside! There was a DVD player in the bedroom and a library of DVDs and books available to us. The breakfast that Carmine and Cheryl cooked was unbelievable. There were so many choices from eggs (any style you wanted), to out of this world french toast to potatoes to fruit. The breakfast was served on beautiful china - we felt like royalty!

Carmine and Cheryl were more than happy to answer questions about how they got started with their "bed and breakfast". It felt more like visiting old friends who gave you all the privacy you wanted!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjtse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 679 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2008

The Cloran Mansiion in Galena, Il is absolutely a top notch bed and breakfast. We have been going there a number of years for a three or four day getaway. They have a dog friendly cottage so we can bring our Yorkie. Each year there are improvements and with the attention to detail it makes the stay perfect. But probably the most important feature are the owners Cheryl and Carmine. We actually feel like we are visiting close relatives. They always find time to talk with us and when we leave we always look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bgronke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

The Cloran Mansion was absolutely stunning. My boyfriend, who was rather skeptical of an old mansion bed and breakfast, was immediately impressed by the large pond and fish, fire pit, huge dvd collection, and wonderfully comfortable bed. The decor is Victorian and very lady-like, so the Cloran Mansion appeals to both sexes, while remaining romantic. The hosts, Carmine and Cheryl, were extremely pleasant and helped us figure our way through town and offered their standing reservations at delicious restaurants. The breakfast served was absolutely delicious, with creative twists on classic recipes. Almost immediately after we arrived, we were already making plans when to come again. The Cloran Mansion has found two new life-long friends and customers.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MelRy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2008

We had a very relaxing time and it is a wonderful atmosphere! The "Tower Room" was very enjoyable. Fabulous food and
genuine hospitality. We highly recommend it!

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank travel6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed there for my birthday celebration. Carmine and Cheryl are wonderful hosts. I must say that we have found our favorite place and we will be back many times! The name really does apply, it’s a Mansion. We were upgraded no charge to a nicer room but all rooms are great! The rooms are decorated beautifully and the bathrooms have a large two person whirlpool, completed with bath salts and soft, plush robes. There is also a mini-refrigerator with complimentary water and soda and a gas fireplace. TV with satellite dish and DVD player. The main living area has a large DVD library, along with coffee maker, popcorn, homemade cookies, board games and a laptop with Internet access.

The breakfast was excellent, no need for lunch after that! We had French toast that was to die for…..eggs made to order, ham, and the potatoes were delicious. Cheryl and Carmine are excellent cooks. All served in a beautiful dining room, with fine china, and linens. The grounds are well cared for, there is a beautiful screened in gazebo and a pond with fish. You can also make a fire in the firepit. Overall a very romantic weekend; I am already recommending this B & B to my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lovetotravel2008123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Extremely accommodating hosts. Quiet setting. Room was very comfortable and the little appointments made it seem like home. Regretably, we were there for only one night because of our travel schedule but would definitely return for a longer stay. The breakfast was exceptional and served on beautiful china and crystal, accessorized with antique serving pieces such as knife rests and salt and pepper sets. We will return.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Hawk42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

We selected Cloran Mansion for our 2 night stay in Galena using their excellent website. It provided photos of the property, as well as bedrooms and common areas. It provided all the information that we needed to make our decision and we received a very prompt answer to our inquiry. Carmine and Cheryl Farruggia were very gracious hosts, accomodating our every need from the moment we arrived until our departure. Ours was the smallest room in the house, but it had more than enough room for 2 adults. It truly is a charming room and nothing was overlooked in the furnishings, including the private bath, queen size bed and white wicker furniture. The room also included cable TV, DVD player, CD player, and a mini-fridge full of complimentary water and pop. We also took advantage of the library, which has a large collection of DVDs and videotapes, games and magazines,as well as a laptop with Internet connection. The hosts thoughtfully provide menus from restaurants in Galena. A selection of complimentary coffees, teas, and popcorn were also available to us. It was a cheerful, cozy place to read on the comfortable couch with a cup of coffee in the morning. The ample, homecooked breakfasts were delicious. It seemed more like a stay at a loving relative or friend's home. I can't say enough good things about our experience!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Peggy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
878 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
196 reviews
1.3 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 32 in Galena
1,345 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1237 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: $159 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloran Mansion is a luxurious Galena, Illinois bed and breakfast inn and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing