We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing weekend, excellent breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in Antonio's Cottage for a weekend. It was such a quaint, cozy cottage and very relaxing. Cheryl and Carmine had me sold on the place from the get-go because they had the fridge stocked with Pepsi products and had a huge bowl of M&M's when you walked in! But besides having my favorite products, the bed and breakfast was fabulous. There isn't a kitchen in the cottage just a small fridge and sink but it was great. There is also a really nice hottub next to a fireplace but the fireplace was turned off and we didn't sit in the jacuzzi since it was mid July and very hot out. If I went back though I would want to make sure the fireplace was turned on because it would be very relaxing to sit in the hot tub next to it. Cheryl and Carmine were very nice and cooked AH-MAZING breakfasts!!! Seriously the french toast was one of the best french toasts I've ever had. They also made you feel right at home and made it such a comfortable stay. Seriously my husband and I haven't felt that relaxed in what feels like months. We had a fire each night at their fire pit too. All I can say is it felt like being at home, except we were able to relax because being at home you always find things to do like laundry, clean, etc. and out there all you could do was relax. It was perfect. We will be going back!

Room Tip: Antonio's Cottage allows pets so that is why we chose that room so we could bring our dog. It w...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beck1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
There are newer reviews for Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 676 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our first B&B stay anywhere and we could not have been more pleased by the hospitality from Carmine and Cheryl. We felt more like guests in someone's house than customers. The mansion has a very homely feeling to it and is very comfortable. The area around is very quiet, away from the Main St. chaos. It is just a quick drive down one street to downtown. Behind the mansion is a farm field where we watched deer graze in the evening.

We spent two nights by the fire pit with another couple. It was so relaxing. Their gardens and gazebo are great as well. I am a breakfast hound and the breakfast was awesome. Having a full stomach for breakfast is a perfect way to start a day in Galena.

Carmine keeps a great DVD movie library if you feel like staying in. My wife watched three movies while we were there. You would easily find something you like.

If we ever make our way back to Galena, this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: John's room was a nice all-around room. Ann's room (I think it was Ann's) would be the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jagbag670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Wonderful hosts! Excellent gardens and tranquil environment make this a perfect place to stay while visiting Galena. Beautiful historic mansion with charming rooms.
Breakfast amazing that will sustain you through out the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kinak613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our second time staying at a Bed and Breakfast and we will be coming back here every year! It was my Birthday weekend and when we arrived to Antonio's cottage late Friday night, there was a Birthday cake and card waiting for me. The cottage was amazing and very relaxing. Carmine and Cheryl are so wonderful and personable! The breakfast was AMAZING!! When we came back on Saturday afternoon from visiting the town, there were deserts waiting for us in our cottage. The gazebo and pond are so beautiful and relaxing. Carmine and Cheryl exceeded our expectations and we highly recommend the Cloran Mansion!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The owners were very welcoming. We would stay there again in a heart beat. The B&B was beautiful, clean and inviting. The breakfast was outstanding and very relaxing. The outdoor gardens were a wonderful place to sit, relax and talk. The location of the B&B was close to down town but far enough away to be calm and relaxing. It was close to both unique shops and chain retail shops.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlyceMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was my husband and I first bed and breakfast excursion. We went for our 13th wedding anniversary. Carmine and Cheryl were awesome. They fed us into a coma. They almost need and exercise room for the extra calories. Breakfast will be the only meal you need. The hospitality was excellent.
It was very quiet, EXACTLY what we were looking for. We will return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in Antonio's Cottage for four nights for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. It was homey enough to feel comfortable in and every time we came back from a mid day outing, our dishes were cleaned, towels fresh and folded, and bed made neatly. Cheryl and Carmine really made us feel welcomed and went the extra mile for us. The breakfasts were always so delicious and we really enjoying the community breakfast experience. It was a nice chance to learn what was fun to do around the area and engage in pleasant conversation.

We also got a nice romantic dinner prepared for us which was brought to our room. The presentation was beautiful and the salmon and steak were excellent along with the bread and tiramisu. The chocolate mousse cake was too salty for us. But, everything else was just right.

There is enough space given at the Cloran Mansion to where you know the owners are around to help if necessary, but you also feel privacy and freedom...especially being in Antonio's Cottage.

The DVD collection was great along with the swivel TV. We enjoyed the hot tub and the town was quaint. We rode bikes, played tennis, swam in a few pools in the area, had a segway tour (expensive...) at the ski resort and did a bobsled course! The amount of time we spent in Galena and the Cloran Mansion was perfect.

Thanks Carmine and Cheryl for making us feel so welcomed and for having a beautiful B&B vision. It is truly a special place =).

Room Tip: Antonio's Cottage gives excellent privacy and makes you feel special.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
866 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
519 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1237 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: $138 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloran Mansion is a luxurious Galena, Illinois bed and breakfast inn and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing