We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
DeKalb, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Cloran Mansion for a romantic weekend in Galena. Upon our arrival, Carmine and Cheryl immediately upgraded us to a larger room with a fireplace and whirlpool, no extra charge! They were beyond helpful without being intrusive. All the rooms have their own unique flair and feel very cozy! The breakfast was enormous and so delicious! We didn't wait long for our food to come out, and then it just kept coming! :) We will definitely be visiting Galena and the Cloran Mansion again soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in John's room which was a good size and had the whirlpool for two and gas fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    48
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
36
531
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husbands work schedule changed at the last minute so were able to make a quick trip on December 30th to this wonderful bed and breakfast. The rate was reasonable and the room was cozy...just what we wanted. The dining room was beautifully decorated and the breakfast was delicious. We would go back for another trip.

Room Tip: Saras suite is located on the main floor and right inside the front door. I probably wouldn't st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed here one night for our anniversary. We rented the Tower Room. Overall, we had a pretty comfortable stay. Here are the pros and cons from our perspective.

Pros:
*whirlpool tub for two in our room
*king size bed
*full breakfast
*gas fireplace in our room
*extensive DVD collection to borrow
*owners very kind and knowledgable

Cons:
*VERY cramped bathroom including very, very narrow stairs up to whirlpool tub
*room is over decorated-it's hard to find space to put down any of your own belongings
*older mansion so it's drafty
*breakfast is served at one big dining table so you definitely speak with other guests (this was a con for us)
*located a couple miles outside of the downtown, right across the street from the high school (I imagine this would be a pain when there are Friday night football games, etc.)

As I said, overall we had a fairly comfortable stay but I don't think it was our cup of tea. We'd return to Galena in the future but we'd try somewhere a little more modern and closer to downtown.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AnSyBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloran, Owner at Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. Holiday decorations sometimes limit the additional space for guests belongings. We will keep that under consideration next year when we decorate guest rooms. However, most guest look forward to staying during the Holiday season because of the decorations. Also because of Holiday decorations the table is expanded and we lose the area where we typically have a table for two. We attempt to offer as many modern amenities as possible in an 1880's Mansion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, il
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

For a couple days' getaway from everyday life, the Cloran was a nice stay. Our room and the property overall is simple (by comparison to luxury hotels if you travel for business, for instance), but the owners are thoughtful and the little touches like Oreo cookies and microwave popcorn in the common space for late-night snacking show that they care about their guests' comfort. The later-than-most breakfast service was so nice! We got to sleep in AND have a very nice breakfast! While the Cloran isn't located in the heart of the historic district, it was literally a three-minute drive away which made the location convenient. Our room was a bit on the small side - not really a lot of room for luggage and hanging out in the space, but we ended up not spending a lot of time there any way - since there are so many things to do in Galena. Besides, the homemade peanut clusters were amazing, like Carmine's coffee and stories, and that's the kind of thoughtful detail that we'll remember most fondly of our few days at the Cloran.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyVacationTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Found the Cloran Mansion on this trip to Galena. What a find! Stayed in the cottage- very private, clean, and home-like. Enjoyed the delicious breakfasts (especially those pesto potatoes) and wonderful hospitality of Carmine and Cheryl. The movie selection, whirlpool tub, and fireplace were bonuses to this beautiful B&B. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aparrothead45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar rap
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was a get away my husband and I will never forget! The owners put a special touch on every aspect of our stay. The food was amazing and great conversation with other guests. We will come back time and time again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I spent our anniversary weekend at the condo at Cloran mansion. The condo was clean and well-kept. The bath salts and spa pillows were a nice touch. We enjoyed the tasty breakfasts at the mansion, a short drive from the condo. We splurged for the anniversary dinner at the mansion. The food was amazing and the ambiance was romantic. It would have been nice to have the dinner delivered to the condo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagorn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1237 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloran Mansion is a luxurious Galena, Illinois bed and breakfast inn and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing