We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Antonio's cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Flossmoor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Antonio's cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Loved it, loved it, loved it! We were able to bring our 3 small dogs with us and stay in the cottage, so that in itself was a plus. The cottage was warm and cozy with so many nice amenities, such as whirlpool. The bed was very comfortable...something that you don't always find. Pop and water, coffee and tea were complimentary, too. And a good DVD collection for my husband to keep amused with! Carmine and Cheryl could not have been more kind and accomodating! The breakfasts were so delicious and plentiful that lunch was never an option. And the nicest touch was that it was all decorated for Christmas, tree and all. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianneFlossmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    48
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
36
529
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband had a conference in Dubuque and surprised me with a romantic stay at the Cloran Mansion. This was our first bed and breakfast, so we weren't quite sure what to expect...needless to say, we loved it! The Cloran Mansion is beautiful, the room was cozy with a fireplace and our own whirlpool. Carmine and Cheryl make you feel comfortable and right at home from the moment you step inside. We took advantage of their collection of movies, decided where to go to dinner based on all the restaurant menus they have on hand and took advantage of fire pit outside by roasting marshmallows after dinner. We got a restful night sleep in the comfy bed and high quality sheets. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Overall, we had a fabulous experience and can't wait to do it again!

Room Tip: We chose John's Room and it suited us perfectly. We had a nice view of the gazebo. After checkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casaday L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the Cloran Mansion November 23-25th. It was the first time at a B&B for both of us. It could not have been a better experience. Carmine and Cheryl welcomed us upon arrival and made us feel so at home instantly. They recommended great places to go and really made it very comfortable. The house itself was amazing. Everything was beautiful, clean and cozy. We stayed in John's Room and there is nothing more that we could have asked for or wanted. I did get to peek into some other rooms and the Tower Room looked very cool as well! The breakfast here is out of this world! (Especially that pineapple thing - I wish I had the recipe). I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: John's Room has everything you would need including a whirlpool. The Tower Room has a bigger bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Four years ago, my husband surprised me and took me to the Cloran Mansion for our first experience at a B & B. It was more than we could ever imagine. He said he wanted to come back with our children on our 20th Anniversary to renew our wedding vows! We went back several times in between, but this time we took our 4 children. I was a little worried, being that most people go here to get "away" from their kids. I was wrong! Carmine and Cheryl couldn't have made us feel more welcomed if we were related. It was an amazing experience for my whole family. All the guests too, made it a wonderful experience! Everything was perfect, from the ceremony, to the wonderful delicious breakfast, the yummy cookies, the beautiful pictures, and special framed certificate they provided for us. Our kids stayed in the cottage and we stayed in "Ann's room". We can't wait to return again and again for many years to come. We feel so spoiled there and welcomed that we have never gone to any other B & B. It's like being at home without any cooking, cleaning, or any housework what so ever!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaylorsAndyKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mills
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Thank you so much for honoring my husband on Verteran's day! I cannot think of a greater way of saying thank you to our military. We had such as amazing experience for our first time at a Bed and Breakfast. The Cloran was beautifully decorated and every step of the way the personal touches were evident. The hospitality was exceptional and the food delicious. We are looking forward to our next stay there. Ed and Noelle

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was my first experience with b & b. Our room was beautiful and cozy, hot tub in the tower! impressive! Carmine and Cheryl made us feel welcome immediately; the gazebo and fire pit were a great bonus. The mansion is beautiful but it is the breakfast and hospitality that will bring us back! The uniquely delicious breakfast options were all spectacular - different each day! You will taste food you have never before, yum!! At breakfast table it was a treat to mingle with other couples. I thought eating with strangers might be awkward, was surprised to find the opposite. We had a blast! Definitely a weekend to cherish and repeat! Book now!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollyanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

My relative recently had her wedding here at Cloran Mansion and it was a wonderful experience from beginning to end. the owners were warm and accomodating, and the suites were quaint and lovely. most of the bedrooms have jacuzzis and the breakfasts were always superb (the pesto potatoes are a must-try!). The decor and ambience of the whole place, combined with the hospitality of the couple who owns it, will really make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherinenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1237 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloran Mansion is a luxurious Galena, Illinois bed and breakfast inn and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing