We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have found this B & B to be #1 as far as we are concerned. Cheryl and Carmen are the most wonderful hostess and host and the breakfast is to die for. We have stayed there 5 ot 6 times and every time we are heading that way we talked about how we cannot wait to have their breakfast. All the rooms are wonderfully decorated and comfortable but our favorite is Ann's Room. We are never disappointed and when we leave we are always talking about when will be the next time we can get away to have a relaxing and enjoyable weekend getaway back at the Cloran Mansion. Trust me - you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pink87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 684 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

My fiance and I have stayed at Cloran Mansion three times now and it is always the first place I try to book when we are in Galena. Carmine and Cheryl have made each visit an enjoyable one and always go out of their way to make us feel welcome. We have stayed in Antonio's Cottage and the Tower Suite. Each has its own character and both are comfortable and private. The cottage is perfect in the winter months with its heated floors and fireplace. We had the gourmet dinner prepared for us upon arrival, which is nice when you have been on the road. Then, it's back to the room for a soak in the whirlpool. The breakfast they prepare for us each morning is OUTSTANDING and is the perfect way to start the day. This B&B is close enough to the downtown are that it only takes a couple of minutes to get there, but it is also located away from the crowds and traffic. They have also made my fiance's birthday extra special by providing beautiful flowers, cake and even a personal card from them, which you won't get at a hotel. If you have any special requests, just ask and they will be happy to accommodate.

For us, staying at Cloran Mansion is a romantic break from the daily grind and we are thankful that we gave this place a try. The hosts and other guests have always made our stays here pleasant ones and we look forward to many more weekend getaways here.

Next time you are in Galena, try this place out. If you have never stayed at a B&B I would highly recommend Cloran Mansion. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This was our very first B&B. We spent our Honeymoon in Galena and spent five nights at this lovely B&B. The hosts are not intruding. Instead we found them very helpful, available for our inquiries, and made us feel quite at home, while allowing us to have our privacy. If you like whirlpools, there is one in every room, but one of the rooms.
The mansion has quiet surroundings and was a relaxing place to come back to!
I appreciate all of the little extra sort of things, oreos in the cookie jar, coffee available anytime, m&ms in a dish, movie library (lots and lots of movies), microwave with popcorn bags nearby, and so on.
Breakfasts were very impressive and delicious. Having had five of their breakfasts, only one was a repeat, and that repeat was our favorite. There was more food available than what we could finish, and it was well balanced. The table setting itself was also impressive.
The Gazebo was also very comfortable as well, private with a pond and small waterfall nearby.
A note on location, it is a comfortable distance from the downtown area, which we believe was a plus (no noise from traffic or late events in town).

We were thoroughly pleased with this B&B, and thank Carmine and Cheryl for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

First time at a B & B. Was there for Wine Lover's weekend. This would definitely be a place I would stay in again. Rooms were clean. The upstairs hot-tub above the bathroom was awesome. Cheryl and Carmine make you feel right at home. Oh, have I mentioned the breakfasts. WOW. Better then most restaurants. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I was looking for a room in Galena for one night to celebrate Mother's Day and our 24th anniversary to surprise my wife. As we arrived on our motorcycles, we were both impressed. The nights stay was wonderful but the breakfast in the morning was to die for. Carmine and Cheryl could not have been better hosts and we definately willo return

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

My husband and I spent hours reading thru each of the Bed & Breakfasts featured on the Galena.org website. We finally chose Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast. Much to our delight, we could not have chosen better! Our two-day stay at the Cloran Mansion was most relaxing. We felt like we were visiting relatives, with Carmine & Cheryl greeting us on their front porch, welcoming us with open arms. Our room (Sara) was charming, cozy and comfortable. The surrounding grounds were awesome, what a pleasure to do some reading in the gazebo, with the koi pond and babbling brook as a backdrop.
In the morning, we were treated to an amazing breakfast!... Indescribable!! Y'all just have to experience this wonderful Bed & Breakfast, with hosts Carmine & Cheryl for yourselves... you won't be disappointed!! Thank you Carmine & Cheryl and Cloran Mansion ~

Room Tip: We chose the room 'Sara,' for the king-size bed, and location on the first floor, we just ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This was our second visit to Galena and the Cloran Mansion B & B. Cheryl and Carmine greet you at the door and make you feel more like a family member than a paying guest. During your entire visit they cater to your every need regardless of the number of guests. Each room is beautifully decorated and offers unique views of the lovely gardens and water features of the grounds. Located on the edge of town, this B & B allows you to unwind in the tranquil gardens and gazebo, yet you are just minutes from downtown Galena and its magnificent architecture and shopping.
We intend to make the Cloran B & B our place to stay on our trips to Galena.......a GREAT place to stay while visiting a charming village !

Room Tip: ALL rooms have great views of the gardens and surrounding countryside, there really is no "bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
886 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
556 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#4 of 32 in Galena
1,362 reviews
7 mi away
Goldmoor Inn
Goldmoor Inn
#6 of 32 in Galena
624 reviews
1 mi away
Felt Manor Guest House
Felt Manor Guest House
#12 of 32 in Galena
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1237 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: $158 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloran Mansion is a luxurious Galena, Illinois bed and breakfast inn and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing