We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxation and Romance at Cloran Mansion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Muscatine, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxation and Romance at Cloran Mansion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2007

We have stayed at the Cloran Mansion in Galena Illinois several times. It is our anniversary treat that we give ourselves every year. In addition to a separate 'cottage' on the property there are five rooms inside the mansion. Each is decorated with early 20th century antiques and includes a hot tub and gas fireplace.

The morning breakfast fare is great! Meats, eggs, potatoes, juices, pancakes, french toast, etc. are all prepared the way you wish you knew how. The breakfast alone is a reason to stay.

The rooms are quiet and comfortable. It is difficult to imagine how a bed and breakfast experience could be better. Add that to the atmosphere of shopping the dozens of shops in downtown Galena make the total experience worth the trip from anywhere.

The Cloran Mansion and Galena Illinois are a perfect match for an overnight, or several night (even better) road trip for two.

  • Liked — Romantic, quiet, great food
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveDianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    47
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
36
526
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MICHIGAN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2007

Spent 2 night here and had a wonderful time. Great breakfasts and very
nice hosts (Carmine and Cheryl)

Bob and Joyce

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PATTERNSHOPLDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale Heights, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2007

We just returned from a weekend stay at the Cloran Mansion and we really loved it. The innkeepers are the most friendly people you could meet, and the breakfasts were excellent. We stayed in "Antonio's Cottage", and truly appreciated the special touches. Free soda and water in the fridge, luxurious robes and bath salts and even a surprise balloon and cake waiting for us in the room as we were celebrating our anniversary. The location is good, fairly close to town and easy to get to. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone!

  • Liked — comfort, cleanliness
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbanach3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2007

The friendly innkeepers made us feel very welcome. We arrived without making prior reservations and was pleasantly surprised at the inn and amenities offered including 2 person whirlpool tubs and small refridgerator with free water and soft drinks. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Friendliness of innkeepers
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gumdrop00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2007

This was my first time at a B&B and I will definitely be back again.
Carmine and Cheryl were about the nicest people I have ever met and really make you feel comfortable and at home. The breakfast is delicious and served family style. If you leave the table hungry its definitely not due to lack of food. They have a beautiful gazebo sitting right next to a small fish pond, creating a wonderful atmosphere of peace and tranquility. When its time to do some shopping they are only about 8 blocks from downtown Galena. All in all I don't think anywhere else in Galena offers such a great experience. I Highly recommend the Cloran Mansion to anyone looking for a great B&B.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VinnieNorthside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
8.7 mi away
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1237 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloran Mansion is a luxurious Galena, Illinois bed and breakfast inn and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing