We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute Cottage Home!”
other travelers have booked this property
Settlement Home nestled in the heart of the Galena Territory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Settlement Home nestled in the heart of the Galena Territory
Entry Way Wood Burning Fireplace in Family Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Settlement Home nestled in the heart of the Galena Territory
Entry Way
Wood Burning Fireplace in Family Room
Dining area
Open Family Room  & Dining Area
Kitchen View 1
Kitchen View 2
Master Bedroom
Master Bath
Back Deck with Recently Added Weber Propane Grill
View from our back deck in the Spring
The Galena area offers picturesque scenery
Waterfall near Settlement Homes
Owners Club
Fitness Center available to Guests
Year Round Indoor Pool
Outdoor Pool open Spring through Early Fall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Galena, Illinois

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Trail5460...
Shorewood, Illinois
1 review
“Cute Cottage Home!”
Reviewed October 9, 2019 for a stay in April 2019

My husband and I traveled with another couple, as we do every year in April. This was our first time to Galena. Cottage is within a 10 minute drive into the downtown Galena area. Beautiful drive to and from town. Loved the cows on the way into the cottage. The cottage itself is quiet, relaxing, and quaint. It has a nice homey feeling to it. It has everything you need to make a great meal. Beds are comfy, fire place is amazing to have and the best part for us, is that's it's PET FRIENDLY. We love to travel and love traveling even more with our little Maltese Casper, when at all possible. The views off the back deck are wonderful. We will definitely rent again when visiting the Galena area. Thank you for sharing your sweet home with US!

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2018
Our property is part of an association which maintains the front steps. This is the first we have been made aware if this and we have alerted them to that issue now.

We do not provide food, coffee, or condiments. I am checking our listing to see if it misled you to think otherwise.

Normally, there is kleenex in the bathrooms, I will check with housekeeping on this.

We checked our cabinets and drawers and although they are little old they are not falling apart. We do plan to have them updated this winter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nat S
1 review
“Peaceful and relaxing weekend away”
Reviewed June 6, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Thought the house was very clean, well decorated, and very comfortable. Richard O was great when there was an issue; he contacted us back that same afternoon.

The only disappointment was the view from our deck. The internet made it look like we would be able to see a pasture, but we had a wall of trees about ten feet off our deck. That being said, the birds were awfully nice to listen to and watch.

A wonderful house to spend the weekend in, and my hope is to do it again soon.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mvporembs...
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Got lucky with weather and accommodation.”
Reviewed May 7, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Packed some amenities just in case but found everything available just as described. Got lucky with the weather (70's) except for one day when we limited a round to nine holes because of the chill. Courses were in beautiful shape and we almost had them all to ourselves. I guess most vacationers wait for the summer heat. Would return to Galena for the accommodation, the golf, and Fried Green Tomatoes. One son from D.C. flew into Dubuque to join us which was just a short drive away. And the parking was at the terminal door and free. Beats big city living.

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meawcat
1 review
“Very relaxing and had every thing we needed”
Reviewed October 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our stay was great! Cozy little house with everything one would need for cooking in. Sheets, towels, blankets, even the dog bowls. Bbq only gets to about 300 degrees though. View from the deck after some leaves had fallen, water fall and lake. Great get away with our pup, walking trails, lots of stars, lots of birds, blue jays, hawks and even an Eagle. Great looking golf course.
We will definitely do it again next fall.

Thanks Rick!

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Having everything i needed to cook with.
Liked least: The Bbq temp. It was clean, it just needs new guts.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2016
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, we will be looking into the grill issue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebeake
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It worked”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Home was decently clean, but smelled of smokers. Worked perfectly for our young family. Was nothing too fancy.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
Our house rules specify that our place is non-smoking. If someone smoked in our place prior to your visit we were unaware of it. We do have a wood burning fireplace and it is possible that a lingering smoke smell can exist if it had been used.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DV196624
1 review
“Nice location for relaxation”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Had a couple issues but Richard was very accommodating in resolving them. He took care of us & was very understanding.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing