We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"How did he do that?"”

P.T. Murphy Magic Theater
Ranked #2 of 45 things to do in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open all year round! Matinees and evenings. Enjoy an evening of mystery hosted by critically acclaimed magician P.T. Murphy. The setting for this evening of illusion is P.T. Murphy's private 24-seat theatre. In the heart of historic downtown Galena, IL. Built in the 1840's this is the perfect location to experience the mysteries of an ancient art up close and right before your very eyes! P.T. Murphy believes in magic. It's his job. He will entertain, mystify and inspire you to believe! P.T. Is known for his personable style, mischievous sense of humor and sophisticated sleight of hand that the Chicago Reader called "An evening that shows magic to its best advantage, up close and personal!" He is the co-creator of Chicago's long running hit show The Magic Cabaret which the Travel Channel hailed as "One of America's Best Magic Shows!". Advance purchase is recommended. Shows do sell out. Approved for ages 13 and up. Run Time: 65 minutes. No intermission. Parking is available in the downtown area.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"How did he do that?"”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Intimate, relaxed but thoroughly dazzling show in the "how did he do that" genre. My 12 year old spent the whole journey home ( to the UK....!) trying to work out how the tricks were done - not giving anything away but the trick involving the orange has been dissected endlessly and Mr Murphy will be pleased to hear we were not detained at the airport for defacing US currency! It was the best magic show I have seen in many a year. A great way to spend an evening. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peregrine65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTMurphyMagic, Owner at P.T. Murphy Magic Theater, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    34
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skokie, Illinois
1 review
“Sharp slight of hand with a dose of acerbic humor to boot”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great show. I typically hate live theater (though have been known to occasionally darken the door of some smaller Chicago venues, Steppenwolf studio and so on). But this was great.Totally didn't see that fish head thing coming...wife and I are still laughing about it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTMurphyMagic, Owner at P.T. Murphy Magic Theater, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks for this very honest review! Fish head? What the?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
“A Magical Experience”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My family has been going to Galena for years, and we've always enjoyed it for the beautiful atmosphere. Some friends recommended Mr. Murphy's show...and we're so glad they did!!! our kids and our parents had a blast. Mr. Murphy really is terrific...he knows how to amaze and amuse. The space is just the right size for everyone to feel like they are part of the show. We are still talking about how he could have possibly done certain tricks...must be magic, cuz we can't figure it out. From now on, when we bring friends or family to Galena...P.T. Murphy Magic will be a must see! Go to the Depot Theatre for a super family night!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTMurphyMagic, Owner at P.T. Murphy Magic Theater, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
How fortunate we are to have such eloquent patrons! Thank you for this wonderful review and thank you for FRIENDING us on Facebook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I had no idea, when I planned my little "romantic" getaway to the quiet beauty of Galena, that I would come across such a FANTASTIC show! This is an experience that makes you remember what it felt like to be young, and to believe that magic IS real. I wore a smile from ear to ear, not only during the hour plus show, but for many days after. Thank you P.T, Murphy! You make the world a wonderous place!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTMurphyMagic, Owner at P.T. Murphy Magic Theater, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
WOW! Thank you for the kind words. And thank you for FRIENDING us on Facebook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
“Amazing Magic”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

P.T. Murphy is quite the entertainer, We were in Galena for a nice quiet weekend getaway and were looking for something to do. We decided that a magic show would be a great way to spend an evening. P.T. Murphy kept us thoroughly entertained and engaged throughout the show. The intimate venue allows you to be up close to all the action. We laughed and watched in awe. A must see on your next trip to to Galena!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TRPeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTMurphyMagic, Owner at P.T. Murphy Magic Theater, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. And thanks for FRIENDING us on Facebook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P.T. Murphy Magic Theater also viewed

 

Been to P.T. Murphy Magic Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing