We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic and he's funny!”

P.T. Murphy Magic Theater
Ranked #2 of 45 things to do in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open all year round! Matinees and evenings. Enjoy an evening of mystery hosted by critically acclaimed magician P.T. Murphy. The setting for this evening of illusion is P.T. Murphy's private 24-seat theatre. In the heart of historic downtown Galena, IL. Built in the 1840's this is the perfect location to experience the mysteries of an ancient art up close and right before your very eyes! P.T. Murphy believes in magic. It's his job. He will entertain, mystify and inspire you to believe! P.T. Is known for his personable style, mischievous sense of humor and sophisticated sleight of hand that the Chicago Reader called "An evening that shows magic to its best advantage, up close and personal!" He is the co-creator of Chicago's long running hit show The Magic Cabaret which the Travel Channel hailed as "One of America's Best Magic Shows!". Advance purchase is recommended. Shows do sell out. Approved for ages 13 and up. Run Time: 65 minutes. No intermission. Parking is available in the downtown area.
Peosta
1 review
“Magic and he's funny!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

You will find yourself thinking, "Oh I've seen this trick before," but then PT Murphy will change things up and do that "old trick" in a completely new way. And he'll have you laughing as he does it. More times than I can count, I said to my husband, "How did he do that? I'm three feet away, and I would've seen a slight of hand from here." By the end, you'll be doing the magic yourself, thinking, "How did he get ME to do that?!"

Galena has a lot to offer, and this show was a wonderful way to end our daylong visit to the community. The small-sized theatre mislead me into believing the show would be "small town-ish," but PT Murphy is a professional and his show exceeded our expectations. It's well worth your time and dollars. You will be entertained and amazed. The small theatre makes the close-up magic all the more impressive.

I am hoping to make a repeat visit with my parents in tow. My 65 year old father is always convinced he can figure out the tricks.... and I know PT Murphy will impress him!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTMurphyMagic, Owner at P.T. Murphy Magic Theater, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    34
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galena, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“you will love this show”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

P T is a great human being and super Magician a definite plus to any visit to Galena in buzz top 10 things to do in Galena

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank buzz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTMurphyMagic, Owner at P.T. Murphy Magic Theater, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Many thanks! We appreciate you sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Murphy Magic Show-Galena Must See!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Galena, IL has much more to offer than interesting shops, beautiful old homes and a rich history. After spending a delightful day wandering the old Main Street and taking a wonderful trolley tour, we came upon a magic show presented by P.T. Murphy. This was an unexpected treat as it wasn't a run-of-the mill flashy production but one that provoked a great deal of thought.

P.T. performed for about 90 minutes, with a short intermission, and kept the adult audience thoroughly entertained and baffled. Mr. Murphy incorporate much humor into his of magical effects, making for an enjoyable evening. If you have time, take the trolley tour too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DonMagic64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTMurphyMagic, Owner at P.T. Murphy Magic Theater, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thanks! We appreciate you sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
1 review
“It's Magic”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Galena is a rustic, historic community and nestled in all the shops, restaurants and beautiful homes is a wonderful small theater.almost hidden by trolleys. On our recent trip to Galena we went to the P.T. Murphy Magic show and had a great time. We were in awe of the magic and were able to participate in some of the act. Some of the magic was familiar but definitely had a new spin. Recommending this show is easy. The price of admission is small but the fun is great. Go, have a good time!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTMurphyMagic, Owner at P.T. Murphy Magic Theater, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New magic in Galena. Be amazed. Everytime you go.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Have been to P.T. Murphy's show a couple of times. The first time was a stage show. The next time was a close up magic show. Besides doing some wonderful sleight of hand magic, for both shows. The thing that sets his performance apart from others. Is that he is able to memorise the entire audience names. No matter how large of a group it may be. Then personalize his show to the audience that is there that night.. Making each show new and unique for that particular group of people.
Doug Henning is my favorite magician of all time. P.T. Murphy did a wonderful take on some of Hennings magic.
i would recommend his show to anyone. This would be a great family night out. The magic is meant for the whole family Adults & kids both will laugh & be amazed by what he does.
You will not see the exact same show twice. Because he works with the audiance. So you can go again & again. And not know what will happen with that group. Be warned the more you see him. The more he will see you. He will not forget your name. Or that you were there before.
Go as soon as you can.
I am looking forward to getting a couple of my older friends & family to go see him.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tristatemagic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTMurphyMagic, Owner at P.T. Murphy Magic Theater, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P.T. Murphy Magic Theater also viewed

 

Been to P.T. Murphy Magic Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing