We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haunted History in Galena”

Amelia's Galena Ghost Tours, Inc.
Ranked #2 of 13 Tours in Galena
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come experience one or all of our tours. Wine, shuttle bus, history, or haunted dinners!! Come aboard our luxury shuttle bus and experience haunted Galena. Explore three haunted locations with one of our guides and learn about the legends and lore that still haunt Galena... We also offer vineyard tours, haunted dinners, haunted pub crawls and old Tyme photos!!
Aurora, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Haunted History in Galena”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I visited to celebrate an anniversary and decided to take Amelia's Ghost Tour for fun. The tour provides great depth into some of Galena's haunted history while taking you to 3 local haunts over the course of an hour. This tour is taken by bus rather than walking, which was a welcome feature as it was cold outside; however do dress for the weather as you will spend time outdoors at the 3 stops. Be sure to take pictures, if you are as lucky as we were you'll be sure to capture some orbs in a photo or two. Go into the tour with an open mind and watch Ghost Adventures in preparation so your expectations are realistic about true encounters with the unknown. My only complaint was ticket price, $15/person would be more appropriate than $30/person.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    117
    56
    46
    31
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Different Twist in Galena”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

First time in Galena, IL and enjoyed the shops, restaurants, etc. On our last night, 4 of us ladies went on the 7:40p ghost tour and it was a different way to experience Galena.

We had a good time, but thought it was misleading to say you would go to a cemetery (when you only saw 2 headstones) and to an insane asylum (when you were taken to the demolition site where it used to exist).

It would have been much better if it was promoted honestly and the tickets were priced at a more appropriate amount of $15/person, not $28.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank EmilyH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia R, Owner at Amelia's Galena Ghost Tours, Inc., responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your response! We are sorry if you feel you were misled in anyway. In regards to the cemetary location, you were taken to what is called "Old Cemetary". It is a cemetary by all means. The particular spot you are taken to has 5 headstones, some lying down and cemented in the ground due to the deterioration and age of the cemetary. Many of the headstones are missing, however, there are still 1000's of bodies buried in this location. We do not let you wander the cemetary out of respect for the deceased. As far as going to the Poor farm location goes, we only guarantee two locations on our website and we take you to 3 because the poorfarm was recently tore down but it one of our most active locations so we do not want to remove it from the tour. We feel that we promote our tour very honestly and are glad that you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Haunted Pub Crawl....”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had a great time on Amelia's Haunted Pub Crawl. We had an a great group of people on our tour, we "broke the ice" right at the start of the tour and it was like we were old friends. The tales were eerily enjoyable with a little history thrown in. It definately was a good time, had fun meeting new people and getting out on the town. If you get a chance, try the Ecto-Cooler, it will definately affect the way you feel!!
I would recommend this for couples, or a friends night out. Really enjoyed sitting around exchanging ghost stories. I will do this tour again!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Twanger11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome time!!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My friend and I took this tour and thought it was great!! Learned alot about Galena that we never knew. Our guide was Kathy and she was great she kept our interest and was very entertaining along the way never a dull moment!! Dan was our driver and he did a great job giving us a nice and smooth ride. The only thing I would change is we wished it was just a bit longer we were having such a good time we were kinda dissapointed when it was over. Definatley would do this tour agian.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank momma2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Tour”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My friend and I went on the 9pm tour last night and had a great time. The tour is full of historical and paranormal stories of Galena which we found very interesting. The tour ended at the DeSoto Hotel and the EMP meter went off in the hallway where a lot of activity has been experienced it was great. The tour guide was fantastic; you can tell Kathy really enjoys her work. I highly recommend taking this ghost tour of Galena.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelia's Galena Ghost Tours, Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Amelia's Galena Ghost Tours, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing