We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable/historic mansion” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victorian Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victorian Mansion
Ranked #26 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Comfortable/historic mansion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in the Grant room which was large,comfortable and quiet. The room had bathrobes and slippers but we were pretty busy each day so we didn't lounge around much. The mansion has been maintained beautifully and the garden is lovely. We particularly enjoyed the information provided by the hosts, Rita and Charlie. They provided a history of the house and the Galena area. They also gave us lots of tips on things to do and places to eat in the area and we took advantage of many of them, including a one-man show on Mark Twain, performed by Jim Post. The breakfast was tasty, but not huge, which is perfect for us. If we go back, I might choose a room with a slightly larger shower, but that is a minor detraction considering how difficult it must be to put bathroom in these old mansions.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mxalpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    11
    2
    6
    5
See reviews for
13
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Our stay at the Victorian Mansion was our first B&B experience, and it was excellent. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Charlie and Rita, we felt comfortable and welcomed to enjoy the mansion as our own. Charlie and Rita were extremely hospitable. They have mastered the ability to be available while allowing guests to feel like they have the house all to themselves.

Really enjoyed learning the history of the house, the hot tub, breakfast, and opportunity to visit with Charlie, Rita, and the other guests around a camp fire (initiated by the other guests). We will definitely return to the Victorian Mansion in the future...they have set the bar high for other B&B's...making it hard to consider going to any other one in the area!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brneilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed at the Victorian Mansion and learned from the inkeepers, Charlie and Rita, that the house was a part of Galena history. Galena is an historical town so staying at the mansion contributed to the feel-everything was authentic. And a great porch to sit on, beautiful gardens and not to mention a home cooked breakfast every day. Nice and quite and only a block away from the main street. Loved it and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belladonna312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western springs
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

great wine/ cheese reception and wonderful breakfast at the dining room table...like a big family. Managers Charlie and Rita were very helpful with history of Galena and suggestions of places to eat and visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terrywesternsprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

This was our first stay in a bed and breakfast. Everything was great. We would like to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldBruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

My two daughters and I spent a weekend here. The breakfasts were delicious with excellent presentation...we felt like queens being served royally! There were two porches, one in front and one in back on the second floor. We enjoyed these for relaxing with a glass of wine and also to play cards. It was very accessible to the shopping and restaurant area of Galena. The room was spacious, the beds very comfortable and the bathroom very clean. We hope to repeat our visit next year. Thank you Rita, Charlie and Brownie!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samacham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed at the Victorian Mansion for 2 nights in the Julia room. We were met by Rita on arrival and given a quick tour before going to our room which was exactly like the photographs on the B&B website. We were advised that the other guests had voted to have breakfast at 8.30am - as we wanted a restful weekend, we were disappointed that we had to get up early to join the other guests for breakfast, even though the guests who specifically wanted an early breakfast did not show for the first morning. All guests ate together in the dining room which was nice as it allowed you to meet new people. The breakfasts on each morning were homemade and tasted delicious, however, the dish is chosen by the chef and there didn't appear to be any other options available, such as cereal or toast. There was unlimited tea/coffee and water for guests.

We were asked to join the innkeepers for wine and cheese and to find out about Galena and the house. Although a nice touch to our stay, it meant we had to be back for 5.30pm to keep our appointment!

The mansion is a short walk to the town's main street, albeit down 200 steps. It is also convenient for the main road and all the sights.

The Julia room cost $175 per night plus tax. This is the priciest B&B we have ever stayed in, and wouldn't consider it to be the best value for money. However, Galena appears to be an expensive town to stay in and the price is comparable to other B&Bs in the town. Guests expecting a full breakfast to set them up for the day may be disappointed with the amount of food served.

Room Tip: View the photos of the rooms online
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoBelfast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.9 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.5 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.4 mi away
305 North Inn
305 North Inn
#31 of 33 in Galena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
0.4 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ryan Mansion
Ryan Mansion
#30 of 33 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Mansion

Property: Victorian Mansion
Address: 301 S High St, Galena, IL 61036-2115
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grandeur of a bygone era in a mansion set high on a hill in Galena, Illinois. The Victorian Mansion has over 1-½ acres of lawn and gardens, centurion trees and three porches. This Italianate Mansion has 8 guestrooms and 8 baths, 4 large parlors and a grand open foyer with a 3-story winding staircase. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victorian Mansion Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing