We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Clean hotel and great location”
Reviewed February 19, 2011

This hotel is very pretty, unique and clean. Makes you feel like you are right in Ireland.

We booked the king bed with a Jacuzzi - the view of the hills are fantastic! I would say if you think its a good idea, but are unsure if you are going to use the tub, skip it. You can hear everyone else use theirs late at night. We also had a ton of lady bugs and flies in our room...kinda gross! This hotel does offers free wireless internet access BUT, The only place i was able to get a good signal was in the elevator! Other than that - the room was great. The bed was very comfortable with pillows of all firmness for different sleepers!

The pub area is pretty neat. Drinks and food are a bit expensive but they do offer a variety of different cocktails, wines and beers. If you haven't had irish food before - try it before you eat at the pub!! This was the first time we have had irish food and we ended up going to McDonalds after we paid seventy bucks. I just couldn't finish the food. Not my taste. The irish dancers that performed that night were great - but they walk around after they perform and ask for a donation....thought that was kind of tacky. We couldn't give them any money because we left our stuff in our room.

The location is great just a few minutes from the Main street of shopping. I would recommend staying at this hotel but not the food. I think next time we will stay in a B&B.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3xT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    198
    60
    16
    10
See reviews for
129
495
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We just got home from an excellent stay at the Irish Cottage. The rooms are nice, nothing out of the ordinary, but clean and comfortable. BUT, the pub, food, service, atmosphere, and entertainment were excellent! The staff made sure that every aspect of our stay was quality. The owner was in the pub, on a week night, and made sure we had an excellent time! The entertainment played until midnight, on a wednesday night, and the drinks were great. A special "Thank You!!!" for an excellent corned beef sandwich!!! :)

Out of the ordinary hospitality and friendliness! We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swirlgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois
Level Contributor
183 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Headed to Galena for Luminaria night and was able to book a last minute stay at The Irish Cottage. I'm really glad we did...from the minute we walked in the door we were greeted by a warm cozy lobby and a welcoming front desk staff. Room was a basic King room with a small sitting area. The room was spotless! No complaints whatsoever. The Pub was incredible! Filled with beautiful woodwork and great entertainment. Paul McHugh entertained the crowd with some traditional Irish songs, some comedy, and even some American hits.

If you are heading to Galena check out the chamber of commerce calendar of events the town always has some kind of activity. One Eleven Main and Fritz and Frites are our two faveorite places to eat stop in and check out the menus.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetochill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savanna, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

I am amazed and incredibly pleased with our stay at the Irish Cottage! The second we walked through the doors we were greeted with smiles from the friendly desk staff who were more than happy to help us with the check in process (and who had infinite patience when we had a setback). When we got to our room it was absolutely beautiful! We had a Glenbourough suite that had a gorgeous view of the green valleys and hills behind the hotel. We had heard music coming from the pub, Frank O'Dowd's, so we eagerly settled into the room then went to check it out. The service at the pub was as friendly and helpful as the front desk and we were immediately greeted and led to our seats for dinner. The Guiness and laughter flowed freely in there and we were soon caught up with the spirit and joy of meeting new people. The dinner was delicious, like we were really sitting in a cozy Irish cottage having a meal home made by Mom! Then we were entertained by Irish dancers in authentic Irish dresses. They were wonderful and it was such a treat to watch them dance and leap across stage to the lively music. Later that night they had a duo come in who were not only great musicians but also added comedy as well. Back in our room the bed was so comfortable and plush, the linens were wonderfully soft and cozy it took no time to fall asleep and in the morning we felt completely renewed and ready for the day. We finished the trip with a stroll around their recreation of a faerie wraith...a large circle of stones that's a half mile wide over in England that has a mysterious history as to how it got there. All in all, The Irish Cottage was one of the best experiences I've had on a getaway and I would recommend it to anyone who asks me where to stay in Galena. The staff is exceptionally friendly, the rooms are beautiful and comfortable, the food is phenominal, and one of the managers puts her recipe for Shephard's Pie up for grabs to those who want it! (Trust me, take it, it's free and it's unbelievably delicious!) I can't wait for the next time I get to stay in Galena because I know exactly where I'm going to make reservations!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

As Irish imports ourselves, Bill and I had a wonderful time ! We really enjoyed meeting the manager and his staff who were so accommodating and charming. The Pub has a great menu and the entertainment was hilarious, mixing country songs with nostalgic Irish ballads. We were tickled to see my wife's great- cousin's name up in the lounge (Lady Gregory) and impressed that she was honored as one of the founders of the Abbey Theatre and as one of the 'Movers and Shakers' during the Irish Rebellion. We left there, proud to be Irish and with many fond memories of growing up in Ireland. We couldn't say enough about The Irish Cottage Hotel - try it yourself.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishmaiden2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
137 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

I stayed here with two other women. We rented a suite (one room with king bed, the other with two queens). The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, the hot water plentiful! We had two of everything (TV, microwave, refrigerator). The views from the library were excellent.
We were there the night of the first big snow. We were surprised that the lot was not cleared to bare pavement and route 20 was not cleared and salted.
Yes, I would stay here again if I were going to Galena. The only negative is that you have to drive everywhere. I, personally, prefer a place in town.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EthelSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Great place to stay in Galena IL. It is located very convenient to downtown where the shopping is great (about 1 mile or so away, must drive). Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel food is good and the pub area is very authentic Irish with beautiful wood bar. View from the back of the Inn is a beautiful hillside with a wide view of land. We would stay again if in the area and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.7 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
840 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
4.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
6.2 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel

Property: Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Address: 9853 W US Highway 20, Galena, IL 61036-9186
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Galena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems so you can book your Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irish Cottage Hotel
Irish Cottage Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing