We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Craic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Moline, Illinois
1 review
“Great Craic!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We spent a few days here last week, as usual, the service was exceptional. Enjoyed music from Garrett Hillary and Scythian, what a great show! A shout out to our server Maria, who impeccably served our table of 9 in the pub during the show, which was no small feat.
The owners/staff at the Irish Cottage(Jack, Basel, Gail, Kathy, John, Joy, Fernando) tend to your every need--they even found my earring which was lost in the pub the night before!
When in Galena, we always stay at the Irish Cottage as it is a good location, rooms are very comfortable, and the staff are "great craic".

Room Tip: Valley View rooms are very comfortable with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhs9a43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    199
    61
    16
    11
See reviews for
130
500
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed here with my sister for a little shopping/spa getaway in Galena. The rooms are clean and nicely sized, with the sink in the room and the toilet and shower in the bathroom. (Works well for two women!) The front desk was a little disorganized, I think because they had a large group in the hotel during the time we were there. They assumed we were part of the group without asking us.
If you choose breakfast in the hotel, and want to eat in the main floor's breakfast area, note that you need to ask the front desk for your basket of goodies; it's not all just laid out for the taking. Weekend breakfast in the hotel's restaurant was really good, eggs, filled crepes, sausages, potatoes, OJ, milk and coffee.
Easy drive to downtown, too far to walk to many attractions/shopping. The spa downstairs was fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannolisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemont, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We just returned from yet another wonderful trip to Galena and our favorite Inn, “The Irish Cottage”. If you're looking for a place where management and staff alike treat you as one of their family then The Irish Cottage is the place. The rooms are always reasonably priced, clean and comfortable. A pub with a fantastic selection of beer on tap, wine, and spirits. Their restaurant offers breakfeast, lunch and dinner. Weekday's the breakfeast is continetal while they serve a very tasty and filling weekend hot breakfeast. Dinner's are as good if not better then anyother restaurant in the area. I'd suggest either of their Strip Steaks (especially the Gaelic Strip Steak) or the Grilled Salmon.

Be sure to stick around for the Irish Dancers and their weekend talent. Make the effort to get to know management, John, Kathy or Basil. The rest of the staff, Amber, Emily, Gail and Tammy are hard working wonderful people who never seem to be in a bad mood. Unless a table of 30 come in asking for separate checks! (Sorry if I missed anyone). And then their's Joy, behind the bar she's an absolute wonder to behold... we love this girl.

Looking forward to our next visit... hugs and smooches, Bob and Robin

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We spent a saturday and sunday night here at this hotel. Our stay was quiet. We enjoyed a great dinner in the pub there and listened to the entertainment which wasn't that bad but not all that great. The hotel is a little further than walking distance for most folks, definitely need to drive into town.

Room Tip: the room was clean and very nice. Had a room on the main floor. Our room faced out towards the parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuaneD956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This hotel is just your basic hotel with an Irish facade. While not super exciting, it was extremely clean and comfortable. Cute lobby and Irish theme. The restaurant had a fabulous complimentary breakfast & tasty evening drinks!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amarieb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We spent a Thursday - Saturday. Basic rooms, very clean and a refrigerator. Great Service and good breakfast. Irish Pub was great for a pint at nite. Relaxing lounge with library feel and comfy oversized chairs. Close to downtown Galena but you will need to drive.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My husband and I took a midweek get-away to Galena and stayed at the Irish Cottage Inn. It was charming from the minutiae we walked in the door. We had a valley view king room and the view was worth the extra money. We both got massages from the day spa on premiss and we were both very pleased with them. The breakfast basket and extras in the morning were perfect for us. We took a quick dip in the pool and hot tub and also strolled around the Fairy ring. Not quit sure what that is? It was literally only 3 minutes from the shopping and dining district but nicely removed from the hustle and bustle. The microwave and fridge were nice to have as well. We would easily stay here again!

Room Tip: Valley view worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Endosissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.7 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
848 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
6.2 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
4.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel

Property: Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Address: 9853 W US Highway 20, Galena, IL 61036-9186
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems so you can book your Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irish Cottage Hotel
Irish Cottage Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing