We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Galena, IL Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Galena, IL Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014


It was a lovely place and a lovely time.

The staff was super-friendly and the food was wonderful--both at the pub and at the breakfast provided.

We had NO problems with our rooms, like at our last 2 hotels (HVAC, shower, toilet). And they were very clean and roomy, with a nice view. There are also 2 cozy rooms off the check-in area that are delightful and private--great place to read or talk.

I can't say enough good things about our experience. We are coming back to stay with our friends as soon as we can.

Only a mile from downtown. You will enjoy it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    194
    59
    16
    10
See reviews for
122
471
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Grange, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We had a great experience here, the room was great (booked the King Suite with valley view), bed was comfortable, room was always clean. Complimentary breakfast every morning was delicious, and the bar was great in the evening because you could enjoy a couple (or few) drinks and just crawl back to your room. Also had a great experience getting a couples hot stone massage. Overall a great weekend and would highly recommend to anyone! Yea, it's a little pricey than your typical chain hotel, but well worth it when compared to other "boutique" hotels in Galena.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Springs, Illinois, Usa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have stayed at the Irish Cottage in Galena a number of times before. We keep coming back because of the Staff and the feel of being at a B&B in Ireland.
This visit was scheduled in part due to the Irish Music Festival held over the weekend of April 11 & 12, 2014. The music was great, and the Irish instrument workshop on Saturday afternoon was personal and informative.
Once again, the Staff & Owners, Joy, Gail, Kathy, John and Jack, all made us welcomed and feel at home. They welcomed us by name and extended a warm hospitality to us that we made us feel sincerely a part of their family.
And the food was great in the Frank O'Dowd Pub. From the full Irish Breakfast to the Shepherd's Pie and Salmon, it all was very tasty and very Irish.
With our trips to Ireland, the only thing that might be missing at the Irish Cottage is the smell of Turf burning from the electric fireplaces in the rooms!

Room Tip: The Glendalough Plus rooms come with a spa tub and a valley view. Well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We discovered this place two years ago while staying at a neighboring motel, We enjoyed the food and friendly service. This visit to Galena, I surprised my wife with an "Eat, Drink and be Merry" weekend package at The Irish Cottage to commemorate our recent 52nd Wedding Anniversary. She has been delighted with our accommodations in the Glendalough Suite and the entertainment at the Irish Céilidh. Our dining experience at Frank O'Dowd's Irish Pub and Grill has been delightful. We will share our stories and photos of this special weekend with our family and friends when we return home. We will definitely recommend it to others!

Room Tip: We were delighted with our accommodations in the Glendalough Suite. Very comfortable. Great appoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bud & Noel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Only way our stay could have been better was if we'd stayed longer. Great amenities, friendly and accomodating staff. Family-oriented pub with Friday/Saturday Irish dancing and live music. Varied menu. Breakfasts were memorable on thier own.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms open directly to parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, WI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spent a much needed girls' weekend in Galena and were very pleased with the Irish Cottage. We had a double queen room which was very clean and the tub/shower area seemed recently updated. It did overlook the parking lot but that was not an issue for us. We remarked several times how quiet our room was. We enjoyed the Irish dancers and singer in the pub and the Irish breakfast. Reception staff was very friendly and even held our luggage while we went into town until our room was available. This is a great hotel for a girls' weekend away or for a romantic weekend away with your significant other.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p05dbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We are spending our 40th wedding anniversary at The Irish Cottage. Both our parents were born in Ireland and we have enjoyed spending many holidays over there. Since we were unable to make the trip to Ireland at this time, we chose The Irish Cottage in Galena. As you drive up to the hotel, you would think you are pulling into a town in Ireland and as you walk through the front doors, you do think you have stepped inside Ireland. We were lucky to come during the week-end with Irish entertainment and a full Irish breakfast. We were entertained by a wonderful group of Irish musicians while eating the best Shepherd's Pie. We upgraded to a Glendalough Suite overlooking the countryside as if you were looking out onto the Irish hillsides. The location is right down the road from Main Street in Galena where there is shopping, tours and great restaurants. Besides the decor and entertainment being "spot on", what makes the Irish Cottage so very authentic are the people. Each employee from the front desk to the kitchen to the bar to the housekeeping greets you with a warm Irish welcome. Kathy, the Manager, truly knows how to make you feel special. We definitely recommend this hotel and we will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and decorated with traditional Irish furnishings, but would recommend the Gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsfunone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.7 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
4.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel

Property: Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Address: 9853 W US Highway 20, Galena, IL 61036-9186
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Galena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems so you can book your Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irish Cottage Hotel
Irish Cottage Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing