We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$209
$146
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites(Galena)(Great Value!)
$90
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa(Galena)(Great Value!)
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoney Creek Inn(Galena)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grant Hills Motel(Galena)(Great Value!)
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Worldmark Galena(Galena)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (856)
Filter reviews
856 results
Traveler rating
548
214
65
17
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
548
214
65
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsconesirish dancersbreakfast basketvalley viewlive entertainmentglendalough suiteweekend breakfastbrian boruleather chairshot breakfastshepherds piehiking trailenglish muffinsmy husband and iyogurtjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
522 - 527 of 856 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Having visited Galena several times in the past, we never stayed over night, let alone two (required for weekends at this hotel). While the room was a little dated and not all that special in comparison to other motels, the lobby, library and pub room were spectacular. The Irish theme welcomes one from the outside as the Irish town façade is unique. The interior is even more realistic. The pub room is very authentic and has a really relaxed yet luxurious feel. The staff was helpful, friendly, engaging and, because they multi-tasked, seemed ever-present. It was a wonderful experience, though a little pricey. But, we couldn't turn down a gift.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadJ5576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We've been visiting Galena every year for ten years and have stayed both downtown and at area bed and breakfasts. We found the Irish Cottage about three years ago and have been staying there ever since! The rooms are clean, well appointed and very quiet. The pool area is beautiful and seldom used. All in all, this place is great and about $30-$40 cheaper than staying downtown!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel. The staff was great, very friendly and helpful. We loved the warm breakfasts they served on the weekend. We highly recommend the hotel and look forward to coming back in the future

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We've stayed here on two occasions in the past year. The hotel is so charming. The rooms are very clean and lovely. The weekend breakfast is amazing!!! The staff is very friendly. Though not always helpful regarding knowledge of restaurants, times or events in Galena. But they do advise you of a number you can call to get the info you are looking for. I loved this hotel. The pool/hot tub is great and with all the B&B'S in town it's nice to have a choice. We will be back here!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jbelle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at the Irish Cottage Boutique hotel to celebrate our anniversary. It is very clean and up to date. The room was perfect. We did have trouble with the toilet in our room so we called the front desk and they delivered a faulty plunger for us to use. The issue was not caused by anything we had done. They sent up a manager who admitted that the system in the area was "slow" and if things didn't improve overnight, they would attempt to fix it the following day while we were out. We never trusted it again, so found ourselves going down to the fitness center restrooms on the first floor. What an inconvenience... We also found it remarkable that there was no literature in the room telling us about Galena (activities, restaurants, shopping etc.). We had to go down town the following day and get brochures from the visitors center.
The breakfasts were certainly hearty, but we liked the scones, yogurt and juice option the best. This is served in the pub. We did stop in our first evening for dessert and to listen to the guitarist. I must say I was disappointed in the mile high strawberry cake. It was nothing more than 2 slices of Sara lee pound cake, bird's eye strawberries-thawed, 2 scoops of ice cream and Redi-whip cream. Not one thing was home made. I felt that at least the strawberries could have been fresh. I know it sounds nit-picky, but it did make an impression on us. However, for our brief stay, we found the hotel staff very friendly and hard workers. I would highly recommend the spa and will review that separately.

Room Tip: lots of bikers stay here and when they come and go, it can be noisy in a parking lot facing room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zsc213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews