We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay on the Valley Side”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Stay on the Valley Side”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times and the best advice I can give is to stay in te back of the hotel. This is better because you can see trees and also it is much quieter. This past weekend we stayed in a two room suite and it was nice. However, it was really only two rooms open to one another, not a true "suite".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenrockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    196
    59
    16
    10
See reviews for
126
474
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I had made a reservation several weeks before my trip. Asked for a "valley view" room. Was given a room on the highway...room was shabby and tiny...the bathroom was so small I had to stand to the side of the toilet to close the door. The noise from the highway could be heard over the television...which was not working when I checked in...but was repaired quickly. I was so disappointed I wanted to cry. I tried to find another hotel, but because it was a holiday weekend everything was booked. I had just come from a glorious room in Lake Geneva,WI. for only a bit more money
money. I wanted to turn around and go back!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank susyqb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr82birish, Executive Assistant at Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment. The room type you booked online is a Kinsale Suite. All Kinsale Suites face the front of the building. We did our best to accommodate your request. Unfortunately, due to a sold out holiday weekend we were unable to move your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Met friends here and enjoyed drinks in the library, breakfast in the bar. Room was large, bed was comfy, mini-fridge a plus, nice views of hillside (with cattle). And in-room coffee, always appreciated. We were there on a Friday night and there were dancers & later some musicians in the bar, a fun environment. Spent the day touring the Grant house, downtown, a nearby winery, with late lunch overlooking the Mississippi. Quite the nice time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed at The Irish Cottage in Galena last weekend. My kids bought us a weekend at The Irish Cottage for our 40th Wedding Anniversary. Very friendly personnel and very clean. Lots of beautiful prints of Ireland all over the hotel. There were four big prints of places in Donnegal in our room and they were all really pretty. We had the free hot breakfast on Saturday morning in the restaurant and that was very enjoyable. You have everything you would want in this hotel. Nice rooms, great location, free breakfast, a pool, a spa, and fun Irish restaurant with entertainment on the weekends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjalsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This place is kind of a cross between a B&B and a small hotel. We booked a last minute reservation in one of their Glenalough Suites for a Saturday night. We were lucky to get it. The room was clean and comfortable. It had a sitting area and a separate bedroom as well as a wet bar and refrigerator. It was just what we needed. The bed was very comfortable, but the corner whirlpool barely fit two people and was a bit shallow. The whirlpool by the pool might be a better bet. The breakfast in the pub was very good and the staff seemed friendly. Our only complaint was that the wet bar sink drain was a little clogged. I mentioned it on our way out and if we had stayed an additional night, I'm sure it would have been taken care of. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back. They are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBLovers620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here Thursday thru sunday and had the best time. The hotel is clean beautiful comfortable. The staff is very friendly. It's in the perfect location. The pool and hot tub is wonderful. I have absolutely nothing bad to say. The beds are super comfy!! Showers are great The pub is great The dancers were great The owner Basil is a wonderful person. Not sure. Why?So friendly and outgoing. It was great to meet him. I will be back many times and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Place was clean. Staff was very friendly we had a suite room was nice sized. It is a mile or so from town and u really can't walk into town cause it is a busy highway with no sidewalks. We took a cab in one night because we were going to have a glass or 2 of wine $10 each way. Complimentary breakfast both mornings. The breakfast was very good u do not get to choose the 1 st day sausage n cheese omelet and strawberry and cream cheese crepe( but it was a pancake) then 2 nd am was a sauage quiche and French toast w strawberries. I thought both were good. Not what I would have ordered but for free breakfast very good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.7 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
4.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel

Property: Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Address: 9853 W US Highway 20, Galena, IL 61036-9186
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems so you can book your Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irish Cottage Hotel
Irish Cottage Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing