We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historically worth it.”

Ulysses S. Grant Home
Ranked #3 of 45 things to do in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Italianate-style brick house, with original furnishings, looks very much as it did in 1865 when a group of townspeople presented it as a gift to Ulysses S. Grant on his victorious return from the Civil War.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Historically worth it.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you are a history buff, why wouldn't you want to add to your knowledge base? It's clean, neat, and accurate in its facts and presentation.

Helpful?
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    266
    66
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knife River, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Feeling Good About President Grant!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have a better feeling about U.S. Grant after this trip to Galena. He was a family man! Loved seeing the Grant home and appreciated how simply he lived. We had a beautiful walk from town, across the bridge and up the hill. Surprisingly, we were the only visitors on a cold and drizzly day. Our tour guide had memorized her "talk" and was not very animated. I am hard of hearing and got the "look" twice, once when I inadvertently interrupted her, and again when I asked her a question that she had already answered. Of course, she didn't know about my disability so it's not really fair to find fault. The tour is definitely worth the donation fee, but I would hope that if children were on the tour, a child-friendly guide would be available to spark a child-like interest in history. If you do come with children, make sure and visit the second building to check out the small exhibit of pets all the President have had.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KnifeRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Sunday visit to friends.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Touring this wonderfully maintained home was like stopping by to visit an old friend on a Sunday afternoon. All the original furnishings, so carefully preserved but naturally arranged, made me feel as if the Grants would come through the doorway to welcome me at any moment. The tour guide was wonderful and so well informed, providing the kind of historical anecdotes that bring the figures from the past alive. Though I'm sure she's given the "spiel" many many times, she delivered it with warmth and enthusiasm. She spoke as if she knew the Grants personally, which made me feel as if I did too by the time the tour was over.

One drawback to this fantastic historical home is the very narrow staircases which have to be navigated with extreme caution. I wonder how the Grant ladies ever made it up and down them with their full hoop skirts!

Only other word of caution is that tourists are required to wait on the porch for the next tour, so if you get there too early on a cold spring morning, the waiting can be rather uncomfortable but is worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank n1nna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great history lesson!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I'm still trying to picture U.S. Grant, Abraham Lincoln, Mrs. Grant, and Susan B. Anthony hanging out! Wish I could have been a fly on the wall back then and listened in on those conversations. The fact that so many of the original items are still in the house is so neat! It was a very informative tour. The guides really know their history and do such a nice job. To see Washburne's home at the base of the hill and know that he and Grant had soldiers doing drills out there on that land for the Civil War is so interesting. The exhibit about the Presidential pets was neat to see also. Very much worth the time and visit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gottagetoutofdodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“US President's HOUSE tour”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A walking tour of Grant's house in Galena! It was informative and great to see history that was well preserved.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karsten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ulysses S. Grant Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing