We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“house tour”

Ulysses S. Grant Home
Ranked #3 of 45 things to do in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Italianate-style brick house, with original furnishings, looks very much as it did in 1865 when a group of townspeople presented it as a gift to Ulysses S. Grant on his victorious return from the Civil War.
Aviston, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“house tour”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The home was very well maintained. The staff was knowledgable of the history. Furniture was original

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank marilyn z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    258
    66
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
196 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“90% original funishings, cant beat that”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

What a wonderfully preserved home. To have so many of the original furnishings it really gives you a personal look into the Grant family's life.Our tour guide was very informative and well spoken. It is a perfect tour for families because it takes only ten minutes.
The second floor of the home is a little tricky to navigate if you have a hard time with narrow winding stairs. Outside there is a small garden dedicated to Grant's wife. Next door there are a few small buildings, public restrooms, and additional historical displays.
Tour of the house is free but donations are accepted.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 18kimmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you love history, then this is a great place to stop. We learned a lot and our guide was able to answer all our questions...a must see

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank caramorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful piece of history”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very knowledgeable staff. Our first tour guide was great - he was full interesting facts about the house. The guide for the second part of our tour was okay - he spoke a little too fast so we had to keep asking him to repeat information.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“history”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

well preserved. enjoyed seeing back in time. State of IL does a good job maintaining building / grounds. Tour guide did a nice job.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cndom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ulysses S. Grant Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing