We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Farmers Guest House
Ranked #3 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Rapids
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
“Wonderful B & B”
Reviewed February 2, 2009

I would definitely recommend the Farmers' Guest House. The owners, Jess & Kathie, were great - as was their assistant Charles. Nice but not overbearing, like some B & B owners that we've met. The inn is quiet and comfortable, breakfast was awesome - we will go back again.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, nice owners
  • Disliked — It was all good!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Loves2travel52328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,256
    49
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
109
920
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
bolingbrook, Il
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2009

The Hosts, Kathie & Jess, along with Charles , their
assistant turned a 3 day get-away into the feeling of a 3 week
vacation>>>>their hospitality, ambience, concern , offerings
and genuine friendliness made our stay fantastic>>>

I hope to return again

  • Liked — total package
  • Disliked — should add to web site>>>provide robes, hair dryer etc
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank proctor64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at the Farmer's Guest House. We stayed in the Annie Lloyd cottage and it was perfect. Kathie and Jess were wonderful hosts. They have thought of everything to make your stay as relaxing as you want it to be. We couldn't wait to see what we were going to be served for breakfast each morning. Everything was excellent!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BoxerLove3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elburn Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2009

We have been here several times before and Jess and Kathy are the best hosts. They have a beutiful B&B and are always so gracious when we come to visit. The rooms are all different and very comfortable. The breakfasts are always delicious and the wine and chees each night at 6:00 PM are always a fun time. We will continue to come back many more times.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_and_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Park, IL
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2009

The Farmer's Guest House in Galena is just steps away from downtown shopping and restaurants. This two story brick bed and breakfast is charming and authentic like most of the buildings in this historic town. It also has proprietors Kathy and Jess who make sure the accomodations are comfortable, clean, and rich with character. The seasonal decorations and the hosts' attention to detail provide their guests with hours of entertainment simply by observing their collection of clocks, antiques, and other whimsical appointments. Or, you can sit and relax watching movies and visiting with other guests. Our visit occurred during the Night of Luminaria with over 5,000 candles lighting the streets, sidewalks, riverbanks and parks of this beautiful town. The glow of the candles against the snow covered streets and the town's festive decorations make Galena a true Winter Wonderland reminiscent of story books. We were fortunate to have the Farmer's Guest House cottage for our stay. Located outside and up the hill from the main house, the cottage sits alone in the woods where you can enjoy peace and privacy. A hot tub ouside, a whirlpool inside along with a fireplace and several decks makes me want to come back in the summer or fall to better enjoy the outdoors. Breakfast was wonderful and hot chocolate with home made cookies in the afternoon took the edge off winter's cold. Even with a houseful of guests and attending to their needs, Kathy and Jess found time to work as volunteers lighting candles throughout the town helping to make all of Galena's visitors have a memorable and enjoyable holiday.

  • Liked — Furnishings and service
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MDDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, IL
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Jess & Kathie are absolutely wonderful hosts and make you feel at home in their beautiful Bed & Breakfast! The house was beautifully decorated for the holidays! This is our second time to stay at Farmers' Guest House and we will be back!

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Livaltl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Kathy, Jess and Charles have "found" something that absolutley works in the B&B niche: Fabulous service, great food, wonderful accomodations and an altogether great experience that will not be forgotten. Having stayed at more than a handful or two of B&B's, this one truly is one of the best! Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Kathy, Jess and Charles
  • Disliked — The food was good, but could have been perhaps a notch better
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
855 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.3 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
504 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmers Guest House

Property: Farmers Guest House
Address: 334 Spring St, Galena, IL 61036-2128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as one of the TOP TEN B&Bs in the U.S. of 2015 and with a Food Network winning chef, Farmers Guest House has been serving guest for 150 years. Located downtown, one block from historic Main Street, and including many amenities such as daily WineTime, award winning champagne breakfast, ice, hot & cold beverage service, cookies, free wifi, DVD library, in-room full bath, flat screen TV, thermostat to control heat and central air, luxurious towels, sheets and bath amenities, concierge service, off-street parking and all the comforts of home, your exceptional experience begins at Farmers Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Farmers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmers` Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing