We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Friendly & Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Farmers Guest House
Ranked #3 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morton Grove, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Friendly & Comfortable”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband & I have stayed at many places in Galena, and this was the best. The owners, Susan & Don, immediately make you feel at home, Mi Casa - Su Casa, should be their motto. The entire place was very clean and comfortable. Nice amenities included the bottomless cookie jars, wine time at 5pm, and the breakfasts! Next time in Galena we will definitely stay there!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Elizabeth room....very clean & comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. We strive to be the best possible choice for luxury lodging in Galena and thank you for your comments. Don and I want each and every guest to feel as though they have all the comforts of home along with great amenities that you might not enjoy every day - like 5 o'clock WineTime with gourmet cheese and crackers, or Don's chocolate chip cookies. We look forward to your next visit.

Many happy returns,
Susan & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,213
    45
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
105
883
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was my first trip to Galena and my first stay in a Bed and Breakfast. I was pleasantly surprised by everything. Farmers' Guest House was amazing and did everything they could to make it affordable and comfortable. We arrived early but they were ready for us. The breakfast was amazing every morning! The innkeepers were amazing. I would recommend to anyone who is things about visiting Galena. Galena itself is a cute town. Main Street is lovely but the stores open late morning and close early evening; with exception to the restaurants and breweries. But that didn't stop me or my boyfriend from having a great time!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cswartz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. As we are beginning our busiest time of the year now, we can't always get guests into their rooms before check in time at 3 p.m. - Charles needs every minute to be sure the rooms are properly prepared to meet the high standards of luxury and cleanliness you expect from us - but we will always be able to hold your luggage for you if necessary. We look forward to your next visit.

Many happy returns,
Susan & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My boyfriend planned a surprise trip for us to Galena. From the moment we walked in the door and was greeted by name to when we left I was beyond impressed! Don & Susan are incredible hosts and go above and beyond to make sure your stay is 5 Star! The B&B is gorgeous and very clean. Our room was Jennie, very beautiful room with a king size bed. Breakfast prepared every morning by Susan is out of this world ! Susan & Don are sure to share the daily weather with you and if a umbrella is needed there are plenty at the front door for your use. Wine & cheese every night at 5:00 is like setting around the dining room talking to people you feel like you have known forever ! Fully stocked refrigerator with water and sodas and never ending supply of "Susan's cookies" are just a few more of the perks at staying at Farmers Guest House. We plan to make this a annual trip and wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. I have a confession to make. They aren't "Susan's Cookies." Don is actually the cookie baker here! And, yes, they are fabulous. Right now Don is baking two different types of cookies for your snacking pleasure - Chocolate Chip and Peanut Butter. We will save some for your next visit, which I hope will be soon.

Many happy returns,
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were early for check in, but Charles welcomed us and allowed us to stow our luggage while walking into
town.

Upon our return, Susan welcomed us, and Don told us our bags had already been brought up to our room. We Stayed in Minnie, and while small, was clean and well- appointed. It had been recently renovated.

It was really nice coming back to the inn at the end of the day and enjoy some wine and cheese with Susan and Don and other guests. It was a nice way to end the day, before heading out to dinner.

After dinner last night, we ended up watching the Blackhawks game on the large tv in the family room with Susan and Don. It was fun, but unfortunately, the Hawks ended up losing the game.

Overall, if you're looking for a cozy bed and breakfast with a location that is walking distance to the heart of town, Farmer's Guest House is a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and thank you for the fun we had watching the hockey game together - until the end! We look forward to your next stay.

Many happy returns,
Don & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the Memorial Day weekend. Neither of us have stayed at a bed and breakfast before and really did not know what to expect. We were both very pleased with the establishment, the accommodations, breakfast, location and general ambiance. I call this an understated gem as the pictures from the website truly do not do the establishment justice. We stayed in the Julia suite and as soon as you open the door you walk into a very spacious and comfortable sitting area, which also led to our larger then expected bathroom. The room itself for our 3 day stay was so welcoming with the large windows and very comfortable bed. It felt like you were almost coming home.

Breakfast was always phenomenal,(especially the caramel apple bacon french toast - yum!) and the atmosphere of the dining area with the wall of clocks, complimented so well with the decor of the room. Again, even with this being our first stay at such a place, I felt comfortable with these surroundings and the owners always made you feel welcomed, yet non-intrusive. If you had a question definitely readily available. I also was pleased that everything they state on their website as providing, they do. There is a wine time and there is always full cookie jars - (with some very good chocolate chip cookies).

The location of this establishment was also perfect, you are only about a 5 minute walk from Main Street, and even the walk to Grant's home took us only about 20 minutes (there is a very steep hill for those non-active walkers/runners - but you could also very easily drive and park there in less than 5 minutes).

I could not be happier with this establishment. I highly recommend it and next time our travels take us to Galena, it will be the first on my list. This may have ruined my ability to stay at a regular hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whogirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments about the photos on the website. Photos should never be better than the real thing and it is good to hear that you felt our photos reflect that. We hope you return again soon.

Many happy returns,
Susan & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My boyfriend and I did a one night trip to Galena this past weekend and stayed at the Farmers' Guest House based off of the great reviews I saw on tripadvisor. All of the excellent reviews are spot on. Susan and Don are so welcoming and accomodating. The B&B itself is in a great location and absolutely adorable. Every nook and cranny was decorated with unique, vintage pieces.

We went to the wine happy hour Susan and Don host every evening and it was a great time to talk to other guests and have a drink before dinner. Breakfast was delicious, Susan's almond cranberry muffins were to die for.

Our stay here was the perfect relaxing escape fromm the city that we hoped for. I will definitely be recommmending the Farmers Guest House to anyone I know planning a trip to Galena and we hope to return someday too!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. Our WineTime every afternoon at 5 p.m. is included in the room rate for all guests and is certainly a highlight of our day. We enjoy hearing about your adventures in Galena and sharing a glass (or two!) of wine or one of the many non-alcoholic beverages we offer as a guest amenity. Although WineTime is not required, it is entertaining. We look forward to your next visit.

Many happy returns,
Susan & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This was our first trip to Galena and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. We were is the spacious Julia Suite---very comfortable. Don and Susan were extremely accommodating and served a great breakfast each morning. Their knowledge of the town and recommendations for dinner were right on! Would definitely stay here again when we return to the area. The House is within easy walking distance of the Main Street shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobandjanet44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. We enjoy sharing this amazing destination with travelers enjoying Galena for the first time. There is so much to do and so many fine restaurants that one trip just isn't enough. We look forward to your return visit.

Many happy returns,
Susan & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmers Guest House

Property: Farmers Guest House
Address: 334 Spring St, Galena, IL 61036-2128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as one of the TOP TEN B&Bs in the U.S. of 2015 Farmers Guest House has been serving guest for 149 years. Located downtown, one block from historic Main Street, and including many amenities such as daily WineTime, award winning breakfast, ice, hot & cold beverage service, cookies, free wifi, DVD library, in-room full bath, flat screen TV, thermostat to control heat and central air, luxurious towels, sheets and bath amenities, concierge service, off-street parking and all the comforts of home,your exceptional experience begins at Farmers Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Farmers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmers` Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing