We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend getaway in Galena”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Farmers Guest House
Ranked #3 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
2 reviews
“Wonderful weekend getaway in Galena”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Farmers' Guest House during the beginning of April for a weekend getaway to celebrate both our five-year anniversary and my husband's birthday. It was a nice change of pace to stay in such a historic building, I believe the house dates all the way back to 1867. The decor is fun and whimsical and the breakfasts were filling and delicious. When we booked our stay Susan, one of the friendly innkeepers, was very thorough over the phone and recorded any food allergies, major dislikes and dietary restrictions when it came to preparing our breakfasts. We stayed in the Charlotte Suite based on reading prior reviews and just loved it. It's right off the breakfast area so it was nice to stumble out of our room and into a prepared breakfast with hot coffee each morning. The room itself had a gorgeous gas fireplace across from the bed, and in addition to a stand-up shower, a nice whirlpool tub in the adjoining room. The B&B also provided complimentary bathrobes during our stay which were so comfy that we couldn't leave without buying a set for the two of us. We parked across from the B&B and were very happy not to have moved our car once when venturing into town. It's a very short walk from the B&B into downtown Galena and we were very pleased with the location. In my zeal to give this place as many stars as I could, it looks like I accidentally gave its fitness center and swimming pool five stars and then wasn't able to leave those fields blank again. To be clear, the B&B doesn't have a fitness center or swimming pool but you truly don't need these. The weekend was spent walking all over town and on nearby trails, so no need to feel guilty indulging in the B&B's tasty breakfasts and skipping the gym! Overall this is a great place to stay for any couple thinking of visiting Galena and we'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieG312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. It sure is a pleasure to not have to get in the car all weekend yet have the entire town accessible to you - that's one of the many things we really enjoy about Farmers Guest House. We can't wait to see you again and enjoyed your comment about the fitness center and swimming pool! We look forward to seeing you again.

Many happy returns,
Don & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    45
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
105
885
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

What a great getaway for us moms and our daughters. Susan and Don were very cordial innkeepers-you couldn't find anyone any more accommodating. They met are every need
plus even more than we asked for. Our two rooms were spacious, clean, well lit, plenty of mirrors and plug-ins. The beds were very comfortable. Wine time and the breakfast was fantastic. It was very relaxing. Course Galena is always a fun place to browse and shop. Restaurants are
all great there. The innkeeper even made dinner reservations for us while we were enjoying our 2nd glass of wine. What more could you ask??? We will definitely be back to visit.

Room Tip: I didn't see all the rooms. I guess it depends if you want to do stairs or not. We had the Cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. It was such a pleasure having you, your friends and daughters here with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Many happy returns,
Don & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was the first B&B my wife and I have stayed at and it was a great experience. Susan and Don helped make the weekend a great and relaxing time. The breakfast and wine at 5pm was perfect. The location is great, just a short walk downtown. Definitely going to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear that you plan on returning.

Many happy returns,
Don & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My wife and I spent a mid-week break at Farmers' last week. It is exactly what a B&B should be - great location, homey feel, relaxing atmosphere. Susan and Don are exceptional hosts - you feel like you've known them forever and they take the time (at 5:00 wine gatherings and breakfast) to get to know you and offer advise about Galena. The breakfasts are incredible - Susan is currently competing for a national award and she definitely deserves it. This place is the real deal and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. The competition is over and we are please to be named the First Runner Up in Bedandbreakfast com's Best Breakfast 2014 in North America. It was quite exciting for all of us here and our guests certainly get the benefit with the wonderful dishes we are creating in the kitchen this season. We look forward to seeing you again.

Many happy returns,
Don & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Kudos to my husband (Marco) for planning this trip all by himself,and surprising me with the dates to get ready. This is a trip of firsts for us ... our first trip to Galena, and our first stay at a B&B. Our stay at Farmer's Guest House immediately set the bar high of any expectation we have for any future B&B's. It was an amazing experience, and it will really be difficult for us to stay at another B&B! Don and Susan are so warm that you feel right at home and welcomed. Breakfasts are always something to look forward to. We come down in the morning excited to see what's for breakfast. Love the coffee, fruit servings, muffins, and the main dish. We got to taste the sticky buns, and they are to die for! Wine time is fun time! Great wine selection, cheese and crackers on the side, and best of all good company. It was a good time to meet the other guests and catch up on how our day went, swapped stories, and get good laughs out of it. We stayed at the Melvina room, and it is a nice and quiet room. It was always kept clean and neat with the help of Charles. Thank you Charles! Oh, and all the testimonials about the "chocolate chip cookies" of Susan are true. We are already plannning our next trip, and will definitely be back at the Farmer's Guest House! Thank you Don and Susan for making this our first trip to Galena a memorable one.

Room Tip: Melvina Room is at the back of the inn so the room is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. We also enjoyed visiting with you during WineTime and agree that the cookies are fabulous - but, Don is the cookie baker in the house, not Susan. Susan makes the amazing breakfasts and Don bakes the cookies. We look forward to seeing you again.

Many happy returns,
Don & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My husband and I needed an easy laid back weekend getaway. We loved our time at the Farmer's Guest House. When we first arrived, we were invited to "wine time" which was a really nice way to start our weekend. What was even better, was the ability to be able to walk into the downtown area after the wine time. We did not have to drive anywhere all weekend. The breakfast was heavenly and the cookies were amazing. We stayed in the Mary room which was really cute. I loved the shower and the home made soap. The hosts Susan and Don could not be any nicer or more accommodating! Staying here was such a treat and we can not wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. We also enjoy walking in to town and love the location as do our guests. I must confess, the olive oil lemongrass soaps in our rooms are hand made, but not home made. I love them too! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Many happy returns,
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I needed a little get away and choose Farmers Guest House and were very happy we did. We started the weekend with a couples massage when we arrived on Friday night. What an amazing massage, one of the best I've had and a great way to decompress. FGH is very cute and well cared for. Don and Susan are excellent hosts, very accomodating, excellent service, and the food was delicious!
We really enjoyed the soda, water and coffee that are available 24x7 and the wine hour was a nice way to wind down on Saturday after a fun day shopping.
This B&B is located on a busy road, and when we first pulled up we thought it would be a frustration with the traffic noise, but we did not hear anything in our room, it was very peaceful.
We really enjoyed that once we arrived on Friday we did not have to get in our vehicle again until we left on Sunday. We enjoyed the short walk to the downtown area for dinner and shopping. It was especially nice to go for a stroll back after a tasty dinner.
The only item that caused me to rate this B&B as Very Good instead of excellent is the bathroom. I dont know if all the rooms are set up the same, but we stayed in the Aimee room, which itself was very nice and cozy. The bathroom however is not set up well. There is no vanity or counter space, only the very large pedistal sink. There was no room to put toiletries which made it awkward to get ready. But that would not stop us from returning, we had a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCH828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. Most of our guests feel the same way as you; delighted that they don't have to get in the car during their entire visit. With Main St. right around the corner, we are convenient and comfortable. We have addressed the space issue you brought up in the Aimee bathroom and are installing a shelf that will eliminate the concern for future visitors. Next time you are here we will show you the improvement. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we look forward to your next visit.

Many happy returns,
Susan & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmers Guest House

Property: Farmers Guest House
Address: 334 Spring St, Galena, IL 61036-2128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as one of the TOP TEN B&Bs in the U.S. of 2015 Farmers Guest House has been serving guest for 149 years. Located downtown, one block from historic Main Street, and including many amenities such as daily WineTime, award winning breakfast, ice, hot & cold beverage service, cookies, free wifi, DVD library, in-room full bath, flat screen TV, thermostat to control heat and central air, luxurious towels, sheets and bath amenities, concierge service, off-street parking and all the comforts of home,your exceptional experience begins at Farmers Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Farmers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmers` Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing