We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Farmers Guest House!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Farmers Guest House
Ranked #3 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Love the Farmers Guest House! Don, Susan, Charles, and Ruth made our first stay at a B&B a most pleasant surprise! We stayed in the Charlotte Suite, which is located on the ground floor and has a separate entrance. As Susan suggested, the separate entrance is nice if uncertain of how the B&B experience will be. However, we felt so comfortable that we often used the main entrance just for the opportunity to visit with others! This suite was lovely, but not too stuffy or pretentious to be comfortable. The decor epitomizes relaxed elegance with a country flair. Many thanks to Susan for inviting our Galena-based pastor to breakfast, which was absolutely delicious. The evening wine and cheese, and bottomless cookie jar was a wonderful added bonus, but the conversation and welcoming environment was the best of all. We look forward to another visit in the fall.

Room Tip: For the light sleeper, rooms on the street side are a bit noisy. Ear plugs worked great though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liv4Vacation898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for your review! Your phrase, "relaxed elegance with a country flair" is exactly what we aim to achieve here at Farmers Guest House. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Susan and Don (and Charles) made us feel like family, but without the drama!! LOL!! The place is like home - warm and inviting - and we wanted for nothing!! Our room was HUGE and exceptionally comfortable. We would ONLY stay there.
BEST in Galena!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you felt at home here and want all of our guests to feel the same. A comfortable country elegance is our goal! See you again soon,
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We traveled by motorcycle anticipating a great holiday escape and were not disappointed. Susan and Don were very accommodating to all of our needs. Their suggestions for restaurants and activities were perfect. Susan's chocolate chip cookies made my husband's trip! All four of us are ready to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsie60089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your review! Yes, your husband sure put the "bottomless cookie jar" to the test, but we managed! It is so beautiful in this area and perfect for riding; we are always willing to provide you with maps and routes to explore. We look forward to being your destination the next time you go on a road trip.

Many happy returns,
Don & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was our first experience in a bed and breakfast, and we would definitely do it again. Don and Susan set a pretty high standard - hope we won't be disappointed at the next one! The rooms were charming, beds comfortable, breakfast delicious! The cookies in the bottomless cookie jar were amazing. Our hosts were so friendly and welcoming, it felt like home. We had the two rooms at the back of the place, the Elizabeth and Malvina rooms. There was a view of the patio area and access to it just outside our doors. Lovely place to sit while waiting for wine time!
If we return to Galena, it will be when there are rooms available here at the Farmers Guest House!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your review! We truly enjoy having first time Bed & Breakfast guests here and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Yes, you have figured out how to not be disappointed in the future - come back to Farmers Guest House! We look forward to your next visit and thank you.

Many happy returns,

Susan & Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We needed an informal and quiet location to spend time with family members and this was the perfect spot. We were able to relax in the "living room" space and then retire to our individual rooms. The linens were delightful, the beds comfy and the bathroom accommodations luxurious. All expectations were met with this B & B.

Room Tip: The Julia suite is on the street side where you can occasionally hear truck traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaBentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your review! With our spacious living and dining rooms, which are open to guests all day and night, we have plenty of room for groups to visit. Many families, weddings, clubs and other groups have chosen Farmers Guest House for their reunion or getaway because of the room to gather, relax and enjoy each other's company. Coming from a large family, we enjoy hosting such happy events and look forward to your next visit.

Many happy returns,
Susan & Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at Farmers' Guest house for two nights and loved it! My husband and I really like having yummy, big breakfast and we were really happy with both of our breakfasts at FGH. Day one was a 3-course breakfast with fruit shortcake, banana bread, and these little personalized oven omelettes. Day two was an apple crumble followed by maple walnut pancakes. The portions were just the right size and after I was done they always were kind enough to ask if I was full and wanted more. Good coffee, good food, very friendly people - we were happy. They also have a daily wine and cheese thing in their dining room every evening at 5:30. They are very generous with the wine, and it's pretty good wine too. Great cookies in the cookie jar too, and plenty of water bottles on hand.

The other reviews say it and we agree - the rooms were cute and very clean. Long story short, if you're going for the rooms, you'll be happy. If good breakfasts are important to you, you'll be really happy too! No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsh1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the inn over the 4th of July. Susan had told us about the rooftop party on top of the Desoto Hotel to view the fireworks. I would not have known about that, if it weren't for her. We enjoyed ourselves and met a lot of friendly people. I'm glad that we went. The inn itself is beautiful, the bed is comfy, and it's close enough to downtown to walk. The inn was full, but I couldn't hear the neighbors, which is good. The reason I'm giving you 4 stars is that the breakfast was a bit disappointing. I was expecting a more gourmet breakfast. The food you served was good, but the spongecake with fruit, was something I could have done at home. The banana walnut bread was excellent. Overall, the friendliness was great, without being intrusive. We will come back, but only if the breakfast improves.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbear8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

We are delighted that, overall, you enjoyed your stay at Farmers Guest House. We are happy that you were able to enjoy the fireworks from the roof of the DeSoto, our little hometown secret spot. We are disappointed that you did not totally enjoy your breakfast. Each morning we aim to provide guests with the best new country breakfast possible. Many guests find breakfast at Farmers Guest House the best part of their stay. We have made note of your comments and will work to ensure that all of our breakfast items are as “excellent” as you found our banana walnut bread.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Farmers Guest House and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
876 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.3 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
531 reviews
4.9 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmers Guest House

Address: 334 Spring St, Galena, IL 61036-2128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: $192 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as one of the TOP TEN B&Bs in the U.S. of 2015 and with a Food Network winning chef, Farmers Guest House has been serving guest for 150 years. Located downtown, one block from historic Main Street, and including many amenities such as daily WineTime, award winning champagne breakfast, ice, hot & cold beverage service, cookies, free wifi, DVD library, in-room full bath, flat screen TV, thermostat to control heat and central air, luxurious towels, sheets and bath amenities, concierge service, off-street parking and all the comforts of home, your exceptional experience begins at Farmers Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Farmers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmers` Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing