We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Farmers Guest House
Ranked #4 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Once again the Farmers Guest House made our two days memorable and us wanting to come back sooner ! Don, Susan, and Charles provide hospitality, unbelievable breakfast, conversation, and just the place we keep wanting to come back for more. We highly recommend the Charlotte Suite. If you are looking to relax, unwind, and enjoy a comfortable place to call home this is it! Thank you again for making our dinner reservations and making our short stay wonderful. There is a reason why the Farmers Guest House is #1 and we are so happy we found out why! See you soon!

Denise and Rocco

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. It was wonderful seeing you again and we love being your home away from home. See you again soon.

Susan & Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our son gave my wife and I this weekend as a Christmas gift. How he came upon this incredible find we can only guess. We had an excellent stay. Don and Susan had more than I expected ready for our stay and they made sure we were settled in before we went down town. The breakfast was what we needed not only to start the day but to get us up and start to recover from the night before. Delicious and filling. Don, Susan and Charles Thank You. We missed the wine time, sadly, but we will be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your review; we are so glad to hear you had a great time. WineTime is every day at 5:30 so we will catch you on your next stay!

Susan & Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I went for a girls' trip with my mom, aunt and sister. We stayed two nights at the Farmer's Guest House and it was absolutely fabulous! The B&B is perfectly decorated and everything is clean, warm and inviting. You feel right at home! We spent much of our time in the downstairs common room enjoying visiting (movie watching, puzzles, music) with one another. They were so accommodating - my mother somehow forgot to bring a coat and Susan loaned us her own!
The breakfast was delicious and she cooked a special dish for my picky sister. We really enjoyed the wine time with the tasty cheeses and jellies.
This was my first visit to a bed and breakfast and I couldn't ask for anything better! The location was perfect, the experience was wonderful - the bar has been set very high for any future visits I may make to others B & Bs! Stay here...you will LOVE it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your review and thank you for posting pictures! We love hosting reunions and get-togethers like yours; our large, comfortable common rooms make is so easy and fun as well. See you again soon.

Susan & Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Let me start by saying that if you're visiting Galena. STAY HERE.
We have just returned from a weekend stay at the Farmers Guest House where we got married over the Easter weekend. We could not have wished for a better location, superb service, great food and above all a more special day than was provided by Susan and Don.
This is the premier place to stay in the Galena area, everything was so perfect for our special day, nothing was ever too much trouble to make sure that our every need was met.
This is not just a B&B it's home from home.
Thank you so much to Susan & Don, you're the best of the best.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and stay in the cottage, it's well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanTheBritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your review! We thoroughly enjoyed making your special day exactly what you wanted and even more! We can't wait to see you again.

Susan & Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Susan, Don and Charles were most attentive and helpful, from making suggestions of things to see in Galena and Dubuque, including making a map on the web for us for a day in Dubuque to mainly visit the Nat'l. Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium (a must), making reservations for dinner. Compared to many B&Bs we've stayed at this one is special. The room and entire B&B was clean and comfortable. There are puzzles and games galore in the library.We stayed in the Minnie and the Jennie rooms. Daily variations of homemade breakfast were great, and wine hour was enjoyable prior to dinner. The house is within walking distance to Galena's main shopping street.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 197marian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your review! There is so much to see and do around the Galena area and we enjoy helping our guests find just the right activities to fit your plans for the day. It was a pleasure having you and your neighbors here for a getaway and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Don & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent Easter weekend 2013 at Farmers' Guest House and absolutely loved it! It was my husband's first B&B experience and he was blown away by the house's charm and the staff's friendliness. Our room was cozy and clean. At 34 weeks pregnant, I especially appreciated the sparkling grape juice at Wine Hour and the fact that Susan asked me if there was anything I couldn't eat for breakfast. She is an incredible cook! Susan, Don and Charles go out of their way to make sure your stay in Galena is relaxing and enjoyable. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephaniefletcher11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! Don and I are parents to 9 grown children and we were delighted to have you here for a couple's getaway before the baby. Be sure and let us know when the little one arrives!

Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

There are many places to stay while in Galena, but none can surpass the expereince you will have at the Farmers' Guest House. We have stayed at B&Bs for the last 25 years and have to say this one is extra special. It's the place if you have been to many or this is your first B&B stay. We stayed in the Julia suite - spacious and comfortable. There are several rooms to choose from - some larger than others but all were immaculate and nicely decorated. The common rooms are great for guests to gather and visit. And if you prefer to just be by yourself at a table for two that's possible too. Don and Sue are ever so accomodating and are always looking for ways to please their guests. While there two of the guests were going to get married at the inn on the following day. It was fun to listen to their story of how they met and we all felt a part of their upcoming celebration!
The inn is close to the downtown area of Galena so it is a easy walk to the shops and restaurants. You avoid the hassle of looking for a parking place in this busy part of town.
Breakfast was yummy and bountiful and the Wine Time in the early evening is just the thing before going out to dinner. There is a great selection of movies near the Vogel Library room in the inn and a perfect way to unwind after a day of shopping and sightseeing in the area.
You may walk into the Farmers' Guest House as a stranger, but will certainly leave as a friend. This is an inn we will visit again and again!

Room Tip: Splurge for the suites - very spacious. Julia is upstairs on the street side, Charlotte is off of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveler048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your review! It is a real treat for us to receive such words of praise from seasoned bed and breakfast veterans like yourselves. We look forward to your next visit!

Don & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
883 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL
0.6 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
550 reviews
4.9 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
5.7 mi away
Goldmoor Inn
Goldmoor Inn
#6 of 32 in Galena
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmers Guest House

Address: 334 Spring St, Galena, IL 61036-2128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: $176 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as one of the TOP TEN B&Bs in the U.S. of 2015 and with a Food Network winning chef, Farmers Guest House has been serving guest for 150 years. Located downtown, one block from historic Main Street, and including many amenities such as daily WineTime, award winning champagne breakfast, ice, hot & cold beverage service, cookies, free wifi, DVD library, in-room full bath, flat screen TV, thermostat to control heat and central air, luxurious towels, sheets and bath amenities, concierge service, off-street parking and all the comforts of home, your exceptional experience begins at Farmers Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Farmers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmers` Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing