We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Farmers Guest House
Ranked #4 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I've stayed in B & B's in Europe, but Susan and Don have outdone all of them with their hospitality. Bed was COMFORTABLE, Breakfast WONDERFUL. I'm a business traveler and usually stay in the big box hotels -- went out on a limb and stayed at this B & B and if I could stay at one just like it, business travel would be much more palatable. Susan had breakfast ready for me before I left (even though it was out of their normal schedule), and had a sack breakfast ready on the day I headed back to catch a Chicago flight. I stayed an extra night at the B & B rather than returning to spend the night at a noisy hotel in Chicago. Definitely recommend to business folks.

Room Tip: The cottage in back would probably be fun for a summer weekend away from the City!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Kim, thank you for your review. It was great having you here and we certainly enjoy making your business travel more enjoyable. With all the comforts of home, wireless high speed internet, plenty of work areas and a flexible breakfast service, we make business travel a pleasure. Thank you and we look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

842 - 848 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

I absolutely enjoyed my stay. Don and Susan have a beautiful place and they are so easy going and wonderful to visit with. The whole house is cleaner than clean and for being a huge place with beautiful high ceilings it was comfortably warm in every room which is important to me because I do not enjoy being cold. If you are planning a visit to Galena this is a wonderful place to stay because it is conveniently located and very easy to find. I can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We just enjoyed a great girls' weekend scrapbooking at Farmer's Guest House!! Don & Susan were fabulous, and, of course, it was wonderful to see Charles again. They all made us feel right at home...so much so that we scrapped in our jammies. The rooms are well appointed, downtown is a quick 5-10 walk and they serve the BEST cookies around (my personal favorite - oatmeal raisin).

If we had a need or request, they were right there to meet that need. It was exactly what we six moms -- who spend much of our lives serving our families -- needed!

If you are looking for a weekend getaway with your crafting friends, check out Farmer's Guest House's crop weekends! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mary room. Plenty of room and a nice bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Natalie, Thank you for your review! It sure was a pleasure having you scrap bookers with us, along with our other guests. It was certainly a great weekend and we are delighted you felt so at home here. See you again at the next crop!
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Jamie and I stayed at Farmer's following a recommendation from a work colleague.

Walking into Farmer's is like coming home after a long day of work. Your stress leaves you as you close the door behind you. Because of their welcoming and hospitable personas, meeting Don and Susan is like meeting with old friends. The rooms are cute, quiet and warm. The wine time provides a nice time to chat with other guests and learn about their weekend plans. Don and Susan supplied us with some great recommendations before we ventured (by foot) downtown.

Susan's breakfast is an awesome way to start your morning. Unique and delicious. Susan listens to your dietary concerns to ensure a tasty and satisfying meal. Susan, Don and Charles share in the conversation. Charles' one-liners were a hit in my book.

This was our first visit, and won't be our last. Thanks Don, Susan, Charles and The Farmer's Guest House!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Aaron, thank you so much for your review! Yes, Farmers Guest House wouldn't be the same without Charles! We are delighted you felt so much at home for that is our goal, that every guest would feel comfortable and relaxed from the time they enter. It is also wonderful to park the car and not have to drive downtown and find a parking space. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Don & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I hadn't stayed at a B&B before. We picked the Farmers Guest House based on TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. We actually had our hearts set on a specific room in the house, but it was unavailable. "Not a problem," said Susan as she upgraded us for the same cost. Susan was extremely helpful all weekend in setting up reservations for meals and massages. Overall, we had a great experience. The food was very good, the place was beautiful and clean, and all of downtown is accessible by a scant 5- to 10-minute walk. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Cottage had a little less character than the main house, but it's a great private and cozy place...
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Need a place to relax and enjoy yourself? Well, this is the place to be. My husband and I spent the weekend at the Cottage and it was wonderful. Don and Susan were very friendly and they cook an excellent breakfast. The Farmer's Guest House was just a walk away from the downtown shops.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for your review! The cottage is a wonderful place to get away from it all and still be close to town when you want to get out. There were deer prints in the snow just outside the cottage yesterday!

Breakfast is my favorite meal to prepare and I am delighted that so many people enjoy what I create in the kitchen. Don has also become quite the assistant cook but he really excels at coffee. We just added fresh roasted, freshly ground coffee we source locally and it is amazing. That will be something to look forward to on your next visit! See you soon,

Susan & Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Excellent B&B took my wife there for her birthday and Valentines day and she just loved it. Not only did she love our room but enjoyed looking at the others we will be back in near future. Wonderful breakfast and many snacks throughout the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markclemens44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for your review! We enjoyed spending time with you last week and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
886 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Felt Manor Guest House
Felt Manor Guest House
#12 of 32 in Galena
142 reviews
5.7 mi away
Goldmoor Inn
Goldmoor Inn
#6 of 32 in Galena
624 reviews
4.9 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmers Guest House

Address: 334 Spring St, Galena, IL 61036-2128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: $176 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as one of the TOP TEN B&Bs in the U.S. of 2015 and with a Food Network winning chef, Farmers Guest House has been serving guest for 150 years. Located downtown, one block from historic Main Street, and including many amenities such as daily WineTime, award winning champagne breakfast, ice, hot & cold beverage service, cookies, free wifi, DVD library, in-room full bath, flat screen TV, thermostat to control heat and central air, luxurious towels, sheets and bath amenities, concierge service, off-street parking and all the comforts of home, your exceptional experience begins at Farmers Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Farmers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmers` Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing