We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Farmers Guest House
Ranked #4 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'm a huge fan of B&Bs and Farmer's Guest House tops all of them. The owners were so welcoming and catered to all of my food allergies. They provided a welcome haven from the hustle and bustle of city living. The rooms and services were outstanding!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

888 - 894 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

Susan and Dan provided a wonderful getaway for me and my girlfriend (along with other quilters). Susan's gift of hospitality left me feeling warm and cared for.....and FULL! The food was FABULOUS and the Guest House experience allowed time to work, relax and build relationships with the other women. These innkeepers invest in their guests! We will definitely return soon! Thanks Susan and Dan!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Julie, thank you. As an avid quilter myself, I really enjoy providing a place for the perfect quilting getaway. I especially enjoyed our "field trip" to some local quilt stores! Shopping in groups is so fun - especially with those who share your passions! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The wife, of 42 years, and I stayed at the Farmer's Guest house in Annie's cottage suite, a suite with living quarters, tv, frig, fireplace, jetted 2 person spa downstairs and upstairs a comfortable King bed, Flat screen TV-DVD and walk out veranda.
It had been a while since we had stayed in a B&B with a 2 person spa, and that item helped us both feel like teenagers again, all three days we were there. We found the owners Don & Susan very friendly and they made us feel like we were not customers, but family.... Good job. The breakfast and the botomless cookie jar were top notch.
If I had to make anything different I would have detailed instructions on operation of the 4 remotes for the DVDs and Flat screens.

Room Tip: I usually start with the biggest and best and go from there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkBrenda40728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Thanks Don & Susan for the sweet hospitality and the beautiful setting. This B&B is a wonderful quaint place to stay right around the corner from Main Street Shopping and Restaurants. Loved everything! The Breakfast was superb and wine time with the other guests and our hosts was fun. Thanks for all your recommendations. Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Tammy, thank you for your review. Yes, our location right around the corner from Main Street is a real benefit of Farmers Guest House. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in the Camelot Suite. We had a great time and the innkeepers (Susan and Don) are wonderful. They gave us great restaurant recommendations and told us about what things would be best to see and do during our stay. They were right on with all their recommendations. The breakfasts were wonderful and the wine and cheese hour each evening was very sociable and fun. The location is very good with a short walk into town. We highly recommend the Farmers Guest House.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Wonderful experience A to Z. My significant other and I stayed here for two nights for a wedding weekend, in which the wedding party basically took over the B&B. Although always a tad stressful being in a wedding, in the hustle and bustle of the events, it was great to retire at night to this cozy, clean and quaint B&B. The hosts were great, the snacks delicious and plentiful, and the mouth-watering breakfast was just the right size! Highlights: Wine/Cheese social, cookies! cookies! cookies! Unlimited drinks, friendly accomodating owners. When I say accomodating, I really mean it...(we got to chalk messages on their sidewalk to the bride and groom, borrow umbrellas for the day, and reception/breakfast times arranged to accomodate our event schedules) I only wish I could have spent more time enjoying all Farmers' has to offer...I will be back! The only reccomendation I have is to somehow add a closet to Jamie's room....we were looking for a place to store our things! PS-We accidentally ran off with one of the umbrellas! Its in the mail!! :)

Miranda Stull and Jon Kaiser

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Miranda and Jon thank you for your review and a bigger thank you for being so much fun! We enjoyed your wedding group and hope to see you all again. Yes, lack of closets in these old historic building is an issue and we add storage options where we can. In that specific room it was either the fireplace or a closet and the fireplace won! Thanks for giving us something to work on and we look forward to your return.

Don & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this B&B on October 17 & 18. It was our first time staying here but not our first time in Galena. All the excellent reviews are true to their word. The innkeepers Don & Susan did everything they could to make our stay as pleasant as could be. We stayed in Emery's room which is located in the back and looks out at the Guest House and backyard. The room is small but was adequate for us. This is our new favorite place to stay when in Galena.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurackDurack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for your review; we are delighted that your stay was up to our high standards. Many of the rooms are just as they were in 1867 when the Inn was built, which is part of the charm of Farmers Guest House. However some of the rooms have been combined to form luxuriously large suites, giving our guests options to meet their specific needs. We look forward to you next stay!

Susan & Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
881 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.6 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
550 reviews
4.9 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
5.7 mi away
Goldmoor Inn
Goldmoor Inn
#6 of 32 in Galena
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmers Guest House

Address: 334 Spring St, Galena, IL 61036-2128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: $176 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as one of the TOP TEN B&Bs in the U.S. of 2015 and with a Food Network winning chef, Farmers Guest House has been serving guest for 150 years. Located downtown, one block from historic Main Street, and including many amenities such as daily WineTime, award winning champagne breakfast, ice, hot & cold beverage service, cookies, free wifi, DVD library, in-room full bath, flat screen TV, thermostat to control heat and central air, luxurious towels, sheets and bath amenities, concierge service, off-street parking and all the comforts of home, your exceptional experience begins at Farmers Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Farmers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmers` Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing