We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable first time B&B experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farmers Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Farmers Guest House
Ranked #3 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Memorable first time B&B experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was our first stay at a B&B and we only did it because we got a B&B Gift Card from our son and daughter-in-law. Boy, what we have been missing! Personable hosts that truly want you to have an enjoyable stay (unlike a normal hotel); relaxing wine and cheese at 5:30pm (unlike a normal hotel); a delicious breakfast that is included and you are served like guests (unlike a normal hotel) and true peace and quiet (you get where I am going with this right?)
We chose the Farmers' Guest House because of the Trip Advisor reviews as I knew if it was a horrible experience, my husband would NEVER do it again. No worries at Farmers'. Relaxed, friendly atmosphere, within walking distance to shopping shopping shopping. Cute, warm, welcoming decor with attention to detail and cleanliness.
We stayed in the Camelot Suite and it was huge! It is facing the street, but the only time we were bothered by road noise was when a couple of fire trucks went by sirens a blazin' and that is understandable. It could only have been better if it would have been chilly and we would have used the fireplace. But as it was, it was very cozy and the big whirlpool tub was fabulous after a busy day.
There is a refrigerator in the wine & cheese/breakfast room that always has pop or water for the guests, and room on one side for your own items you may have. We needed that for leftover chicken from the Market House that we wanted to have the next day for our drive to our next destination. I will leave a separate review for the Market House as that was great too.
I would highly recommend the Farmer's Guest House if you are in Galena. I would not consider myself a "picky" guest, but I like to be comfortable after a long drive. I provide customer service to others, so I appreciate good customer service when I get it, and you will get it at Farmer's.

Room Tip: The Camelot Suite was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnes0taSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,193
    45
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
103
870
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Farmers Inn is a place we will return to again! Susan and Don are wonderful hosts who want their guests to have the best experience possible. The food was outstanding and the location is perfect. Close to downtown Galena and within walking distance to restaurants. The wine and cheese at 5:30 p.m. is a definite plus and gives guests the opportunity to relax and gather information about the area. This was a great find!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 540LoveJamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband & I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Farmers' Guest House. Don and Susan (the new owners of 4 months) were very welcoming. From the yummy breakfasts to the wine & cheese at 5:30 p.m., they were there serving and talking with their guests. Susan made excellent recommendations (especially for the trolley ride). We would highly recommend Farmers' Guest House to anyone who would want to stay at a B&B in the Galena, IL area. Thank you Don and Susan!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Hospitality, service, cleanliness, quality all top notch. Location is walking distance to downtown. A little pricey but we will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinker0225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

B&B was totally cute--its on hwy 20 but easily accessible to downtown--a plus for travelers on bikes. Hwy noise not bothersome at all. Susan was the perfect hostess--got us in on a last minute one night stay. Got the Camelot suite--very nice!!! Made some great recommendations for restaurants downtown. Will definitely check in to Farmers next time I am planning a trip to Galena.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were lovely. Just depends on whether you would like a whirlpool tub or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsmCoolCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

I had never stayed in a Bed & Breakfast before and now I think it'll be difficult to ever stay in a Holiday Inn or any hotel.  The Farmer's Guest House is not only Galena's Only 19th Century Restored Inn but the perfect place for an anniversary, honey moon or weekend get-away.

What makes it so perfect you ask??
-Prime location with a trail connecting the B&B to all the downtown Main Street shopping, dining and attractions.  Just be aware that you will get your exercise climbing up and over the hill.
-Living room filled with countless jazz CDs and many DVDs to play while in your room
-Dining room with two and a half walls covered in more clocks than I've ever seen in my life.
-Pick one of the hundred mugs off the wall and serve yourself coffee, water or pop at any hour.  Don't miss out on the freshly baked cookies and breads!
-Fresh, communal breakfast in the morning between 8:30-9:30 am that is always changing from day to day
-Wine & Cheese time at 6 pm
-Rooms all decorated based upon a unique theme
-Backyard hill-side hot tub to lay back and relax in
-Several umbrellas sit near the front door in case you forgot yours or didn't look outside before heading out.
-Gay friendly (My partner and I were a tad worried for no reason after all)
-Kathie and Jess, the best hosts you could ask for.  They're happy to give you advice on sights, dining, or anything else.  As conversation starters bring up the Guest House's history, ghost sightings, the trick fork and the endless wine glass.

Farmer's Guest House will soon be you're home away from home.  (On your way out, expect a loveable hug from Kathie)  Tell 'em Richie recommended your stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. At the end of March my husband Don and I purchased Farmers Guest House from Jess and Kathie. Over the past eleven years, Jess and Kathie did a fantastic job of renovating the Farmers Guest House building a loyal following. Our aim is only to improve on what they accomplished and continue the tradition of providing exceptional customer service to all of the guests who stay with us every year. We welcome you with the same warm smile and home-baked cookies!

Since purchasing the property, we have moved the fine tradition of WineTime to 5:30 to accomodate our guests' dinner plans and secure them the reservations they would like. The other amenities you mentioned are still here and new ones have been added to further enhance the guest experience. Unfortunately, there was no hot tub here when we purchased the property; however, there are three elegant suites with whirlpool tubs in which you can relax.

We hope you will return to Farmers Guest House soon; we assure you the same quality Bed and Breakfast stay you have enjoyed here in the past.

Susan Steffan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Did a girlfriend's weekend away and the cottage was the PERFECT spot!!! Location was close enough to town to be convenient, yet far enough away from the congestion. What made it even better was Don, Susan and Charles. They were amazing. Extremely accomodating and engaging. Willing to make recommendations and reservations. Have been to Galena numerous times and this was the best of the best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmers Guest House

Property: Farmers Guest House
Address: 334 Spring St, Galena, IL 61036-2128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as one of the TOP TEN B&Bs in the U.S. of 2015 Farmers Guest House has been serving guest for 149 years. Located downtown, one block from historic Main Street, and including many amenities such as daily WineTime, award winning breakfast, ice, hot & cold beverage service, cookies, free wifi, DVD library, in-room full bath, flat screen TV, thermostat to control heat and central air, luxurious towels, sheets and bath amenities, concierge service, off-street parking and all the comforts of home,your exceptional experience begins at Farmers Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Farmers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmers` Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing