We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect B&B for Modern Couples” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farmers Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Farmers Guest House
Ranked #3 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Granger, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B for Modern Couples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Recently returned from a weekend at Farmers Guest House in the Pete & Eleanor whirlpool suite. I must say that this was our first B&B experience and we're not the type of people who would normally stay in a B&B, but in Galena its a must. Jess & Kathie made us feel like members of their family. They were very helpful in pointing out great things to do. I especially appreciated the bottomless cookie jar & free pop & water. We also enjoyed the wine & cheese hour. They also have a large selection of DVDs, even new releases. The location is fantastic since it is a quick walk to Main Street where all the shopping/restaurants are.

Our suite was on the first floor just off the dining room and has a seperate entrance to the outside, which was very handy. The photos of the room didn't do it justice. The suite was huge! Very nicely decorated & completed modern conveniences. The suite had 2 flat screen tvs. Seperate bathroom with stand-up shower, sitting room, and bedroom with whirlpool.

Breakfast was very delicious. My only wish is that there were more options during breakfast. There is one main dish (french toast one day, egg strata type casserole the second - both excellent). It'd be nice to have 2 dishes each day for picky eaters or in case you're in the mood for savory when they're serving sweet, vice-versa.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstin29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,193
    45
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
103
870
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We just got back from a great stay here. Ill try to give good information in this review.

Rooms

Annie Lloyd cottage suit,

We stayed here and its very comfortable with plenty of room.
Upstairs has a king bed and a full bath and a skylight. There is also a flat sceen tv and blu-ray player (same as downstairs).
First floor has a half bath, couch, tv/blu-ray and 2 person whirlpool tub with bath salts. Candles are not allowed due to insurance but light has a dimmer. There is a small deck area on fist floor and a wrap around deck on both levels.
AC is through 3 window units (2 upstairs and 1 downstairs) and it was plenty cool (we like it very cool).
Its very quite in the cottage and the bed was comfortable.
We were very happy with the room, The only downside is to get to the main floor is a flight of stairs and a small hill out back. If you want to run to the main area a lot for a water or a cookie its a bit of a walk. It didn't bother us at all. Also the wifi signal doesn't make it into the cottage but you can get it on the tables in the yard in front of the cottage.

Almost all the rooms are upstairs (only noticed Pete and Eleanors suite downstairs). So if you just cant do stairs you may want to inquire about the Pete and Eleanors suite which is next to the dining area. the stairs are a bit narrow.

Pete and Eleanors
As I said next to dining area and downstairs. Has it's own exterior entrance and a little sitting area out there (as well as the sitting area in front). The people there said they didn't hear any noise from the house but a little if there was a big truck going by. Still they had no issues sleeping there.

Emery and De Paul,

We noticed both of these as they are both on the back of the house as you walk through the door to the back yard where the cottage is. In back so shouldn't get any road noise. Might here people going out to the back yard or cottage but seemed nice. Rooms are standard bed/bath/tv but I thought a good size. The fireplace rooms are around the same size but obviously they have the fireplace.

Jessica's room with the two beds seemed like a good place if you need two beds.

There is a library upstairs as well and two common areas downstairs (dining hall and living room area). So plenty of places to sit in if you are trying to let someone sleep in the room. The back yard with the gardens and tables was also very nice and we sat out there some on both nights. Some great backround noise with all the nature sounds.

Breakfest was excellent but there wasn't a varity by default. I am sure they will go out of their way to fix you something else if you cant eat the main course and you ask. Also with the main course was some backed items and fruit and yogurt. I was honestly stuffed each morning and didn't really eat lunch.

As many others have said there are cookies water and soda in the dining hall at all times. There are ice buckets and ice in the dining hall as well. One thing lacking is there is no microwave accessable unless they are around to do it for you during the day.

The location is excellent and the walk to downtown isn't bad at all. It does involve some stairs and climbing espcially on the way back but it seemed to be just the right amount of excise to work off some of the food and drink. We loved the walk. The parking lot is accross the street and it's a busy street (route 20) so you will have to cross to bring your stuff in (unless you unload in their driveway which we did for packing up). We didn't use the car much once we got there. You do have to cross to get downtown as well.

The innkeepers Kathie and Jess really take this place from very good to excellent. Everyone there was extermely nice and helpful. The place is very clean and well decorated. With sites like trip advisor these days it's not as important to stick to a place you know is good because you can know all the good places in an area by the reviews. That being said, I can see why so many people come back here. I rarely go back to the same place but we will come back here.

About the only knock I can see is we didn't have a ton of places we were dying to eat at in town. Now we did enjoy Fried Green tomatoes and the dinner we had at the Goldmoor Inn outside of town was excellent. Also the pizza we had at Procento's was very good. We picked places based on the reviews I found and we weren't disappointed but clearly the reviews are very mixed on most of the places in town. Still even though the reviews were mixed on Fried Green Tomatoes we liked it. Kathie will definitely let you know what they like best and they are very helpful when it comes to the town and surronding area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msc1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxemburg, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

This was our first B & B but spoke to alot of folksabout them. this place is in a great location. Great breakfest and just great people you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin!
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

A girlfriend and I stayed at Farmers' for 3 wonderful nights. The amazing reviews are well-deserved. Jess and Kathy made us feel like family, they are genuinely interested in every guest. They had great recommendations for restaurants and things to do. We especially loved the breakfasts and the wine and cheese hour which led to great conversation with other guests (that's what B&B is all about!!). We stayed in Jessica's room which has 2 queen beds, so difficult to find at most B&B's. It was cute, clean, coffee served upstairs in the early morning, cookies all day, cold water at your fingertips... We really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else in the future! A special shout-out to Kass who made our cheeks hurt from laughter!!

Room Tip: Jessica's room has 2 queen beds, perfect for girls getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerritop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

We had never stayed at a B&B before. Jess and Kathie made our stay very welcoming. They were warm and charming. I felt like we were staying in someone's home. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommned the King Size bed suite. Lots of room to roam around
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsbilldex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

The room we stayed in was neat, and really clean. And we can't stop talking about how much Jess and Kathy made us feel so welcome and like we were at Home. Well minus the kid's. The breakfast was Great and the other Guest's were very pleasant too. We stayed in the DePaul Room. It is in the back left corner of the building on the second floor and our window looked out over a Cool walk way and this little seating area where many guest's sat and read the paper or took a moment to take in the beautiful scenery. We are talking to the other couples that came with us but stayed elsewhere and are planning to come back and all of us stay at the Farmers Guest House. We love ya Jess and Kathy! Thank You - "The Mueller's" Bob & Jacqueline 8-12-11 / 8-14-11
PS. IF YOU COME TO STAY AT THE FARMERS GUEST HOUSE TRY KATHY'S AWESOME COOKIES IN THE RECTANGLE WHITE COOKIE JAR IN THE DINING ROOM. Shhhhhhhh!!!!!!! We ate about 10 - 15 of them, between the two of us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is the most fantastic little B&B in Galena, hands-down. Jess and Kathie are two of the kindest, most welcoming, hospitable hosts you will ever find. They have wonderful stories to share, and my girlfriend and I will never forget the wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Pete and Eleanor Suite was wonderful. In-room jacuzzi made the trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSRSinginguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmers Guest House

Property: Farmers Guest House
Address: 334 Spring St, Galena, IL 61036-2128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as one of the TOP TEN B&Bs in the U.S. of 2015 Farmers Guest House has been serving guest for 149 years. Located downtown, one block from historic Main Street, and including many amenities such as daily WineTime, award winning breakfast, ice, hot & cold beverage service, cookies, free wifi, DVD library, in-room full bath, flat screen TV, thermostat to control heat and central air, luxurious towels, sheets and bath amenities, concierge service, off-street parking and all the comforts of home,your exceptional experience begins at Farmers Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Farmers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmers` Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing