We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place that feels like home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bernadine's Stillman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Ranked #6 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place that feels like home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Stillman Inn for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing trip! The house is beautiful and historic. Dave is a wonderful host and we loved the friendly conversation with him and other guests. If you are worried about going to a b and b because of chatting with other people, don't be! Dave makes everyone feel so comfortable, like old friends. We have been to bed and breakfasts in other places around the country and Dave's level of hospitality can't be beat! Looking forward to going back in the summer!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank whitesox1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! Yes, Dave is truly "Mr. Hospitality". I love being his wife. And he is definitely in his are of giftedness! Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    62
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
485
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Gorgeous historic home conveniently located to town, but outside busy foot traffic area. The host, Dave, is a super hospitable person and made us feel like family. Our room was cozy, clean, and so romantic with th fireplace and view. We loved it and would stay there again! Thank so much!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Wonderful! So glad you liked everything. Can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

My first trip to Galena and first stay was very memorable! My friend and I enjoyed the warmth of the Inn and the wonderful staff and food...especially the LOVECAKES! I would love to return and recommend to others!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinstuve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
"Love Cakes" I know! They are scrumptious and our guests love them. We take a poll every now and then to determine our breakfast menu. The Love Cakes are always a keeper!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We just spent two nights at the Stillman Inn when we took a trip to Galena to ski. You cannot find a more friendly and welcoming innkeeper anywhere - Dave was wonderful!

We stayed in the Romance room and enjoyed the fireplace. Solid breakfasts (pancakes shaped like hearts with banana and berry filing were delish!), cookies and ice cream and pastries always available. The mansion itself is really neat, and as it was still decorated for the holidays, was very festive. Good location for going into the main part or town or driving to chestnut to ski. Don't expect super luxury, that's not the goal here. More of a comfy, welcoming place with pretty historic touches and a nice place to enjoy the company of your partner.

All in all an excellent value - there are plenty of pricey options in Galena and here you'll get a good value and super friendly service.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveladdictChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Nice description of the property...thank you. Yes, you will not find luxury. Hard to do that and combine historic but I think we have a great blend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed as a couple on 01/04/14 and left the next day as an engaged couple. Dave's hospitality was superb and we couldn't have been happier with the service we were given. The house is gorgeous and has a very warm and comforting feeling. Breakfast was fabulous! We will definitely plan on staying here again in the future and would recommend it to anyone looking for a weekend getaway in historic Galena, Illinois.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Badger2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Come single, leave engaged.....We Love That! Might be hard to keep up but you gotta have a dream!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I just had an amazing time at the Stillman Inn on New Years Day! Definite notable highlights would be the impeccable service of the Innkeepers and the wonderful historic feel! We were blown away by the level of hospitality shown to us by Dave. He is a wonderful Innkeeper and it is so apparent he loves his job! If you're looking for an inviting and relaxing getaway Bernadine's Stillman Inn is the place we would recommend over and over!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric Mandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your time to write a review. So glad you are satisfied!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Stillman Inn. Dave was very attentive, respectful, and accomodating. Initially I accidentally booed for a three-night stay on their website, I thought "oops, I didn't want that extra night" so I simply called, and he adjusted to a two-night stay like I had meant to book.

When we arrived he told us all about Galena and provided us with a helpful map he made to show us around town. He made us a NYE reservation for dinner and then recommended we go to Miss Kitty's Grape Escape for the 2014 Countdown. Good choice!

He also adjusted the time for New Years Day breakfast so we could sleep in a bit later, as well as our check-out time. Christian makes a delicious egg and cheese (with ham if you like).

The rooms are in gorgeous condition; comforting with both the jacuzzi and the fireplace.

It's on the more costly side, but we got what we paid for, and we would stay there again.
Thanks again, Dave and Bernadine!

Room Tip: We got to see nearly all the rooms once we arrived, and were very satisfied that we chose the Grand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClassroomSooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you and no problem with the later breakfast on new years. We got to sleep in a bit too! So glad you enjoyed your stay and the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.4 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
4.3 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernadine's Stillman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernadine's Stillman Inn

Property: Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Address: 513 Bouthillier St, Galena, IL 61036-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernadine's Stillman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and Historic 1858 French Italiante Bed and Breakfast. Awarded "Best Breakfast In the Midwest" and "Best Innkeeper" among others. We look forward to serving you and helping you get the most out of this attractive destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Bernadine's Stillman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing