We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mini-Moon in Galena”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Ranked #6 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mini-Moon in Galena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Dave welcomed us to Stillman's Inn and made us feel like welcomed. He was charming, and the his home was quaint and beautiful. We enjoyed our stay tremendously, and the breakfast each morning was great. My wife and I were newly weds and enjoyed the ambiance of the house. We love that the house was not in downtown Galena, but yet we could walk there easily. Dave made himself extremely available. We definitely enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cimorganhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
How lovely. And we look forward to seeing you again! Let me know exactly what you mean by sleep quality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    63
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
486
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saukvi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were made to feel welcome from the start. Dave was very kind. Our room was cozy with a nice view of the courtyard. Meals were well prepared. However, the mattress in our room was uncomfortable. Reminded us of a mattress we slept on in a Motel 6 once. We chose this inn because of the breakfast award but when the peach and vanilla yogurt appeared the second and then the third day, I was a little disappointed. I have never stayed in a B&B that served the same starter everyday. It did not help that we do not really care for those flavors. My other issue is that we were there 3 nights and were served the same breakfast TWICE!!! The porch was great, had a swing. which was lovely. One day we did not put out the maid sign. I told Dave that we had received fresh towels somehow, but I realized later we had not-- and none had been put outside our door as Dave said they would be if we did not put the maid sign on the door. Guess that's why I thought someone came in to leave towels.

Room Tip: We never book a very expensive room. Maybe if you are willing to pay more, you get a better bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teklamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
OMG - we feel so bad about this. Please, give us another chance! And we are discussing the menu for three nighters as I type! Thanks for the helpful input. Come back and we'll give you a complimentary bottle of Champagne and our special truffles. Our way of saying Sorry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Dave the b&b owner was awesome! He made us feel like we were part of his family! He gave us a glass wine and gave us recommendations for dinner such as Ottos and places to visit! The guests were all awesome and our breakfast was wonderful! We have stayed at many B&B and this one was by-far the best in service. Dave makes every effort to make your stay wonderful! Our room was beautiful and my favorite was sitting on the front porch enjoying the view. Perfect location by Grants Home!

Room Tip: All rooms are a good choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
So glad you enjoyed the property Hope to see you again soon. And thanks for the mention of being across from Grant's home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I figured I would like the Stillman Inn from the first time I talked with Dave on the phone. I wasn't disappointed. We were welcomed like family and he and the staff answered any question or request we had. It was a great location and I will stay there again the next time I am in Galena.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
You have made my day! Look forward to seeing you again Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Dave, made us feel welcome from the moment my husband talked to him on the phone. The inn is a beautiful B&B with beautiful architecture inside and outside. Dave really made our stay one of relaxation and pampering. We enjoyed Dave's caring ,sense of humor and his attention to details of local tourist highlights we would enjoy.he provided many tips while we visited Galena .We wanted to thank him many times for the detailed and hand drawn map of area attractions he gave to us when we arrived. We used it many times .Hannah's sweet nature, kindness as well as her delicious breakfast which included the wonderful" love cakes." Thank you all for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Oh yes, my Dave and Hannah are really something special. We just love having y'all stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Many others have shared that Dave makes you feel at home right away and he does! Bernadine and Dave are a cute couple with a sweet chemistry between them. The house is magnificent. All rooms are wonderfully decorated and the bed is very comfortable. We toured the rooms that were not occupied and they were just as nice as our room. Ottos for lunch was a great recommendation! Have the warm ham and cheese sandwich on a pretzel bun. The quality of ingredients they use is great and the ambience and staff also are great. It was nice to meet the other guests at breakfast who were also warm and fun. If anyone wants to get married or renew your vows there is a darling and quaint wedding chapel as part of the property. Definitely check it out! Downtown Galena, definitely take the 1 hour historic tour for $18. Great guides and beautiful trolleys. Restaurants are super. We ate at Vinny's (italian) for super but it was hard to choose. We need to return to check more out. Thank you Dave & Bernadine for a lovely two days. Sandra & Lee C

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and didn't hear a thing. Three other rooms were booked and we never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Yes we do share a unique chemistry. We really enjoy being together and serving our guests. Glad you had a great time and for offering the recommendations to "future" guests! Come on back soon!

Bernadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Bernadine's is a fantastic place to stay! This was our first Bed & Breakfast experience and I was a little nervous about whether it would be as clean as we like (I am a bit of a germophob). I am happy to report that our room was very clean! The one thing I would modify about the rooms would be to use duvets or comforters that could be washed between guests.

The host, Dave, was extremely helpful. He provided us with his hand drawn map of the most popular sites and restaurants. All of the restaurants he recommended were great as was the breakfast served at the Inn!

We asked for hiking recommendations and he told us about Apple River Canyon State Park (which was located on his handy map), which turned out to be BEAUTIFUL!!!!

Bernadine's has everything you need for a nice, relaxing weekend away! They even have games, popcorn and DVDs.

The location is fantastic! The majority of the things we wanted to see and do were located within a short walking distance of the Inn and there is a very nice running/walking/bike trail as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
SWEET! Thanks for the nice review. I'm sure it helps future guests decide where to stay! See you soon!

Bernadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.4 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernadine's Stillman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernadine's Stillman Inn

Property: Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Address: 513 Bouthillier St, Galena, IL 61036-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernadine's Stillman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and Historic 1858 French Italiante Bed and Breakfast. Awarded "Best Breakfast In the Midwest" and "Best Innkeeper" among others. We look forward to serving you and helping you get the most out of this attractive destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Bernadine's Stillman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing