We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Ranked #6 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Springs, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed the Experience”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Brad and I visited the Stillman because we wanted to hit Galena on my first trip to the state of Illinois. He had been to Galena and knew I would love it. We found this B n B on line and chose it purely by reviews we read. We were very happy with our choice. We came on Monday and left on the Thursday, the 4th of July. Dave was very friendly and helpful, but gave us lots of space and privacy. We had the room with the window on the porch at the entrance of the inn. Little bit noisy when people talked in front of the door or hung out on the porch, but other than that, it was great. You can not beat the location for beauty and ease of access to town. The food was good and the service was really great. Dave aimed to please and truly cared for each person there. Bernadine cooked the first morning we were there. Thanks Bernadine! Good choice to experience Galena.

Room Tip: Each room has a unique quality you will enjoy. Ours had a great jacuzzi tub and lots of room. Priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjabsolute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2015
You are welcome! It's a big beautiful house with 8 guest rooms on 2 acres of land. Big enough to find privacy if that is what you are looking for! Awesome! You hit the nail on the head with Dave. He does aim to please everyone he comes across. He's a busy guy!

Bernadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    63
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
31
492
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moline, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Stillman Inn is a nice B&B. We arrived on Friday. Dave was very friendly. They had a nice wine and cheese welcome. He told us about Galena restaurants and a little of the history of the B&B. The room was very nice. Good start to the weekend. Friday night we had a great dinner in Dubuque. Won a little at the casino came back and had a nice evening. Saturday morning we had breakfast. Very good. Omelets made to order with all the extras. Great conversation. Another good start. Enjoyed the day in Galena. Got caught in a rainstorm. Just a fun day. Did I mention we were there for our 9th anniversary. We brought wine, cheese, crackers, fruit and some chocolate sauce back. We decided to have a nice romantic picnic in the room Saturday night. While we were enjoying the snacks and wine we started filling the hot tub. When we went to check on it a bit later we discovered lots of stuff floating in the tub. I was going to drain and clean it, but my wife said no she didn't want to get in now. We still had a great evening, but the tub was a big part of the room that we didn't get to enjoy. I pulled Dave aside before breakfast Sunday and showed him the problem. Turns out the AC unit needed to be cleaned and debris from it is what got in the tub. His response to me was "why didn't you call. I would have came and cleaned it." Well at that point, having someone come in and clean would have caused other problems. The mood would have been totally ruined. It would have been nice to have a little taken off the bill, but no offer was made. Did it ruin the weekend? No.But the hot tub was supposed to be included and we didn't get to use it. So, all in all the B&B is nice. But I wouldn't say it is up there with the best that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RockyR150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2015
So about the tub experience. We work really hard at figuring all that out for our guests. Glad everything else worked out well for you. Give us another chance and mention this. Well be sure your tub is not an issue and throw in some fun "thank you" stuff like homemade truffles and a bottle of champagne! How's that?!

Bernadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Galena for our first time the second to last weekend in June. Dave and Bernadine were absolutely wonderful. Dave welcomed us with open arms, had a small happy hour prepared with cheese, crackers, and some wine. He sat with us for a bit and gave us his own map of Galena and some great recommendations. Dave gave us a brief tour of the the room we stayed in, the Grand Romance room, on the first floor which was absolutely lovely. The room was clean and beautifully prepared for our arrival. There was a small fridge with complimentary water and all necessary amenities available. The breakfast was in a communal setting which was great in getting to know others who were also staying. Breakfast itself was delicious. There was yogurt and granola awaiting our arrival followed by Dave providing the menu, taking orders, and bringing breakfast out promptly. Overall we had a wonderful time especially since it was our first visit to Galena. The stillman inn had a large play and we plan on returning. Thank you Dave and Bernadine for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2015
You are welcome. You were amazing as well! Thank You.

Bernadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife & I chose to spend our 10 year wedding anniversary getaway in Galena with Dave & Bernadine Anderson at the Stillman Inn simply because the service the service they provided us the previous 3 times we stayed there was absolutely wonderful. We have become really good friends with Dave & Bernadine & have decided to spend at least one weekend a year there as long as they remain the owners. You might find fancier and perhaps larger B&B's in Galena but what you will not find is the kindness & warm hospitality provided by Dave & his wife. Also, the mansion is fabulous & the breakfast is excellent. My spouse & I are already looking forward to our next stay here (our 5th).

Room Tip: The two rooms on the main floor are the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2015
Paul - you are a rock star. Thank you for your continued friendship and kind words. Love it when you come stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Moline, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

There are several bnb's to choose from in Galena , however , the Stillman Inn stands out from the rest!!! I know , I've stayed at other bnb's. Then we stayed at this gem and we just returned from our 12th visit. We absolutely love the Stillman. For us, it's like going home for the weekend. Dave , the owner , is very passionate about the inn and it shows ! The mansion is gorgeous , the rooms are amazing and the beds are so comfy! Dave always has snacks out and bottled water. The wine and cheese hour is an added touch also. Lots of amenities!!! We will be back most definitely for our 13th stay. Thank you Dave , you are the best!!!
Peg n Jared

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaredsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2015
Peg and Jared - you are good, kind people. So glad you found us and we look forward to seeing you again and again.

Thank you my friend
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Bernadine and Dave hosted us for a 25th anniversary stay. It was wonderful. They clearly enjoy what they're doing and have a wonderful mansion and location. My wife and I would go back in a heartbeat! Location is good, breakfast was good, company was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2015
Brian, thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words. You are a gentleman and a great guest.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Bernadine's Stillman Inn celebrating our 35th anniversary. Staying at this lovely inn built in 1858 added to the experience of historic Galena. Dave, the innkeeper, did a wonderful job restoring the building to its period and was one of the friendliest and most cordial innkeepers of any B&Bs we've ever stayed at. Breakfast at Stillman Inn is an opportunity to meet all of the inn's guests, converse, and make new friends which enhances the B&B experience. And the breakfast menu and quality was great. All in all, an excellent experience at a great value. We'll definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_and_Valerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2015
Thank you for your kind words. B&B's are great aren't they and with so many to choose from here in Galena, we are glad you found us.

Bernadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
852 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
496 reviews
0.5 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 32 in Galena
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernadine's Stillman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernadine's Stillman Inn

Property: Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Address: 513 Bouthillier St, Galena, IL 61036-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernadine's Stillman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and Historic 1858 French Italiante Bed and Breakfast. Awarded "Best Breakfast In the Midwest" and "Best Innkeeper" among others. We look forward to serving you and helping you get the most out of this attractive destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Bernadine's Stillman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing