We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another memorable stay at the Stillman”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Ranked #6 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Moline, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Another memorable stay at the Stillman”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have stayed at the stillman several times now, last march we brought close friends of ours to the Stillman and the just loved it! They decided to get married here and were marrrried yesterday afternoon . It was beautiful ! Dave and Bernadine were on vacation so Daves brother Tim and his wife Pam were filling in and they did a great job! We didn't plan on staying but Tim offered a room to us at a discounted rate (thanks Tim we won't tell Dave ) . As always the room was fabulous and breakfast was scrumptious!!!! Of course we will be back!!! We are booked for March, as well as our friends that were just married here and are booked again in June . Thanks Tim an Pam you did a great job.... Dave and Betnadine - see you in March.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaredsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2015
You guys are too much! I just saw some old reviews I hadn't responded to and just loved the memory of you right now. We were on our 25th anniversary get away. Thanks for understanding. We very seldom get away!

God Bless
Bernadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    63
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
31
492
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have stayed here before. The main reason is because its familiar, and i know that Dave will answer his phone if we have any questions. we went around Christmas time, and i know that with the holidays he had his family time.. Yet he still answered his phone, recommended places to eat, such as Fried Green Tomatoes, which was fantastic! He was very accommodating. we stayed in a simple room, room 3 which was a nice blue color. We weren't there for fancy towels, fancy antiques or anything like that. we were there for the company of each other! We for sure will be back, and not because of a 10 percent discount! We had a great time! Thanks dave and bernadine!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andersonr87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

First off id like to say that i was pleasantly suprised about the Stillman Inn and what it had to offer. My gf and I are both 25 years old and so we are def a younger couple that loves to travel. When we looked for a place to stay in galena we checked any and every possibility in the galena area that is available, especially last minute for new years. Last minute because the group that was suppose to join us had to bailout a week before our trip. Anyways we noticed the Stillman Inn and we read the reviews and decided to call. We werent too excited about $180 a night for a bed and breakfast but once we got we were pleasently suprised by what Dave (the owner) had to offer us. Not only did he actually have a spot available for a one night stay for new years available, but he offered us the night before as well for half the price. So we decided to leave a day earlier and spent the first night there for $90. Couldnt pass up that kind of deal. We arrived December 30th and left January 1st at around noonish. So 2 nights we spent there and i have to say it was truly amazing. Dave and Bernadine were the most helpful, warm, accomadating people i have ever met. The best part was a shelf of movies free to bring up to your room to watch, 24 hour of free ice cream, cookies, pie, wine.etc i mean you cant beat that at all. Well the wine wasnt unlimited but it was there to have a glass. So below is my categorized review of the stillman inn and its all my opinion and everyones experiences may differ.

Service- absolutely amazing. If we needed anything we got it. Dave kept in touch with us as we made our trip into Galena. We live about 3 hours south of galena and Dave made sure he kept up with us via cellphone. He and his wife went to see a movie and he called us right before and right after to make sure he didnt miss us. On our arrival Dave arrived right behind us. Very Very nice person and he really had made rolling with laughter many times. He gave me the tour of all the rooms and gave me some historical facts about the building. Our rooms were always clean when we arrived back from our days of skiing and shopping and if we got low on anything it was taken care of urgently.

Breakfast- One of the best parts about the Stillman Inn. Nothing like a hot home cooked meal to start your day in the middle of a cold winter. THe first morning we had omelettes and our choice of bacon or sausage, toast either lightly buttered or "SMOOTHERED TO OBLIVION". I think i got the terminology wrong but there was a phrase i cant remember at the moment but it basically mean drowned the toast in butter. hahahaha. One of days corkers. lol. And the second morning we had Keesh, pancakes, etc.... It was all to die for!!! ALso each morning started with Yogart with your option of oats to put in it!!! FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!! I saw someone comment on how bad it is to have only a 1 hour window for breakfast and the thing is they dont have a full staff that runs that place. ITs basically Dave and his wife and one or 2 other people. So i dont think it was hard to hit the one hour window. The best part was New Years eve after breakfast, my gf and I and 2 other couples staying all had a vote about having breakfast an hour later the next morning instead of 8:30 we would like it to start at 9:30. To our delight Dave had no problem at all moving breakfast back in hour. So we couldnt thank Dave anymore for his kind accomodation there. Breakfast gets a 5 outta 5 for me. O and New Years Day morning we all got free Mimoso's from Dave and Bernadine. I had 2 glasses. I polished the first one and Dave refilled it again. Now that is SERVICE at its best hahahaha.

Staff- ALL I CAN SAY IS BY FAR THE BEST. VERY WARM AND WELCOMING.

Room- The room was exactly what i expected. No it doesnt have all the crazy things some brand new hotel would have but I have a very big love for rustic old style homes and thats exactly how the room felt in a good way. Room was very warm and very comfortable. The bed was so comfy that my gf and I slept right through the new years countdown. The bathroom was kind of small but if we got the bigger room we could have had a bigger bathroom so i can understand that. Next time i think we will get one of the suites with the big tub lol. ANd the room didnt have any table to eat our food on we brought home which was a bummer but we made due with eating on the bed while watching movies. lol. FOR A B & B it was a cozy room and it was ready for us everynight when we returned.

Miss. Category- Unlimited excess to free wifi. Free ice cream bars in the freezer along with, freshly made cookies, treats, and wine. Now hows that for a B & B. The views from our room were beautiful with all the snow on the ground. I could see Ulyssess Grants Home right across the street from our room! Dave and Bernadine helped with anything and everything needed. When we arrived the first night it was kind of late and Dave asked us where we would like to eat and we picked One Eleven and he called them right up and even though there was 15 minutes left to get a table for dinner he set us up with a simple phone call to them that we were on our way and needless to say we were greeted at the door at the resturant intown and there food was amazing.

Overall I was more then impressed with the Stillman Inn. Its location makes it perfect to walk to downtown galena. Dave and Bernadine are the nicest people you could meet and there service is top notch. I can see why this B & B has won awards over the years. Its a quiet, cozy, romantic place to stay and I highly recommend the Stillman Inn to anyone. Its not your everyday modern Hotel with limited excess to things thats overpriced! Stillman Inn has anything and everything you need to stay nice and cozy throughout your stay at the Stillman. I suggest you spend the couple extra bucks and get one of there suites with the big tub. THe hardest thing to do was leaving the Stillman. Saying bye to Dave and Bernadine proved to be hard as we spent almost an extra our there saying goodbye. Stillman Inn will forever be our home away from home. And lastly our proof of being there is if you stay in Room 3, we are under the date of new years. O yea i forgot to mention that every room has a log book you could add your story too with a picture if you like. Now thats showing they care about the people who stay there. LOVED OURS!!!!!!!! Opps there is no fitness center at stillman. But i cant get rid of the rating for it. lol

Room Tip: Room 3 we stayed in. Has a small bathroom and no tub. But a fantastic view of Ulysses Grants Home. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We took time out of the Christmas rush to celebrate my birthday in Galena the week before Christmas. While dining downtown our first night the snow began to fall and did not stop. It was absolutely beautiful! We woke to a delicious breakfast and an invitation from Dave and Bernadine to drive us into downtown in their four wheeler and pick us up when ready. Our car was still buried, so we eagerly accepted. They drove us in on a scenic route, stopping along the way to take pictures of the winter wonderland. In town the only shops open were the ones where shopkeepers could walk in. We didn't get much shopping done, but had some great conversations with some interesting locals. That evening we didn't venture out for dinner - most restaurants were closed, pizza couldn't even be ordered that night. But we didn't starve at the Stillman Inn. We watched old Christmas movies and snacked on Bernadine's wine, cookies and milk, fruit, ice-cream bars, and popcorn. It ended up being one of our most memorable and relaxing trips to Galena. We were even able to upgrade our room the second night to a whirlpool/fireplace room - not many B and B's let you do that. All the rooms were beautiful, the endless food outstanding, the Christmas decorations stunning; but the highlight of our stay was our hosts who outdid themselves to pamper us in any way they could think of. Thanks so much!

Room Tip: The two smaller/cheaper rooms lacked soaking tubs and an area to sit. We enjoyed the former servants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent our honeymoon at the Stillman Inn. It was a fabulous experience! Our suite was beautiful. We had 2 working fireplaces, a jacuzzi tub and a ridiculously comfortable bed! The owners were so kind and helped us plan out each day over breakfast. We really liked that the Inn felt private. We will absolutely be back in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite, but also took a peek into the grand romance room, which looked alm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mccbeth08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We recently stayed here in order to get out of town and relax a little bit. When we initially arrived I was pleased with the appearance of the property and the warm greeting from our host, Dave.
Things seemed to go a little downhill from there. The old mansion is charming and the two rooms we stayed in were okay. However, a few issues popped up that made our stay a little less-than-satisfactory.
Our first room (#4) was okay, but the bathroom was straight-up UGLY. Wow, it could really use some sprucing up. Here, and in the rest of the property we began to notice small details that made the place less appealing than it had seemed from our first impression: There were ugly wires running everywhere, there was loose and frayed carpeting that looked as though it were hastily installed, and shoddy paint jobs were evident in many places. The beds were squeaky and kind of "eh".
Our first night was pleasant enough, but our room became uncomfortably warm. We turned off the heat, turned off the fireplace (which is more for decoration than for heating) and turned on the ceiling fan, but to no avail. My wife typically gets cold very easily and seldom feels too warm, but the room remained uncomfortable for her as well. Incredibly, we ended up opening two windows in the room even though the temperature outside was in the single digits. We slept that way all night. Room #5 was larger and nicer, but it also had many cosmetic flaws.
Breakfast in the morning was a little disappointing. The food was nothing great, and I've never stayed in a B&B where breakfast is only served for one hour (8:30-9:30). We didn't even bother showing up for breakfast on our second morning.
Does it sound as though I'm nit picking? That's not my intention. I'm not trying to say the the Stillman Inn is terrible, but on the other hand, paying $225 for a night's stay comes along with certain expectations. We've stayed in many B&B's and this one was among our least favorites. Dave is a pretty nice guy, but I'm sorry to say we won't be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redbirds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We do our best to provide our guests with a comfortable and enjoyable experience. We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. But thanks for the input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We arrived at Bernadine's at about 4:00 PM on Friday. As we got settled into our room Dave met us at the top of the stairs. Dave is a wonderful host. As we were registering he ran through a list of restaurants available as well as other activities. Our room was very comfortable and we slept very well. Breakfast was very good on both days and a very good variety. We met several very nice couples also staying there. The decor of the house was excellent, especially if you like the period of the late 1800's. Dave was always available to answer questions and handy with directions.

Dave also ordered snow so we could have the real feeling of winter in Galena. Thanks Dave

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
852 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
496 reviews
0.5 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 32 in Galena
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernadine's Stillman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernadine's Stillman Inn

Property: Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Address: 513 Bouthillier St, Galena, IL 61036-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernadine's Stillman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and Historic 1858 French Italiante Bed and Breakfast. Awarded "Best Breakfast In the Midwest" and "Best Innkeeper" among others. We look forward to serving you and helping you get the most out of this attractive destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Bernadine's Stillman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing