We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Ranked #6 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Moline, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I decided to surprise my husband and take him to the stillman inn for Christmas. We have stayed here a few times before, this would be our 4th. As always was a wonderful stay. We absolutely love it at the stillman! Everything about it is perfect! The house, the food, and of course breakfast...which you get plenty of. The best part of our stay is Dave and. Bernadine. They are the 2 nicest people you will ever meet! They really make your stay amazing. Honestly, I don't know why anyone would stay at any other place! They don't know what they are missing. We have stayed at other b n B's in Galena and none of them come close to the Stillman Inn. We now only stay here. Me and my husband love it so much we decided we will be moving to Galena in a couple years and hopefully will own our own bed n breakfast. In the mean time we will always go back to the stillman inn. We are already booked to stay here in March and are looking forward to it! Thanks Dave and Bernadine for another amazing stay and more great memories. Have a wonderful New Year and see you in March!
Peg n Jared

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaredsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    63
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
31
492
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This was our first time staying at a B&B and it was good overall. Dave is very personable and will provide directions or information for anything you ask about. He has a wealth of knowledge about the area.

Rooms - The rooms were small as one would expect for being in a period home. The bathrooms were tiny too but again, expected. There is a little shelf space for toiletries. The fireplace in the room was great. It works very well...sometimes too well but that's better than not working enough. The TV's were old school and on a cabinet off to the side. A flat panel above the fire place would be ideal.

Amenities - The bottomless cookie jar was almost empty the entire time of our stay. That's not because people kept eating them. There were only a couple of store bought cookies in it when we arrived and no one touched them the length of our stay. Same with the ice cream bars. There were a couple in the box when we arrived and they were consumed. They were not replaced. Our group wanted an ice cream bar the last day of our stay but with the freezer just being full of ice and not ice cream bars we went without. Granted, we didn't need the bottomless cookies or ice cream bars but they were expected since they were part of the advertising. It was something fun we were looking forward to.

Random details - We were there with a group of friends for my birthday and when we called to make reservations Dave took all kinds of information about the group....whose birthday, how do we all know each other, what high school did we graduate from (all are high school/grade school friends), what year did we graduate high school, etc. None of this information was used during our stay. We had most of the rooms at the Inn that weekend but nothing was made of the information. We didn't need anything made of it but since the information was taken we were expecting a little something above and beyond from the owners. Otherwise, why take the information.

Dave and Bernadine - We didn't see Bernadine at the Inn until our last day there. We met her briefly. It was a Sunday and she was most likely there so she and Dave could go to church together. We completely understand that but were surprised that the Inn is named after her but she is not anywhere around. I will say that we were not at the Inn much during the day so she may have popped in and we just weren't there to meet her. We were not without owner involvement though. Dave was always available and was so personable. He is the Shell Answer Man for all things Galena. If it's your first time to the area utilize his knowledge.

Food - Breakfast was good but not outstanding. Food was okay. Some was microwavable and prepackaged/canned. Others had a little bit of a homemade touch. I expected a 'right out of mom's kitchen' experience though. Our glasses of juice, coffee etc. were bottomless. You could also have as much breakfast as you felt you needed. Portion sizes were good. We had just enough. They seemed a little small when served but our country now a days is used to giant portions. The servings were just right. We weren't overly stuffed but also didn't waste a bunch of food. Again, you can always ask for seconds if you need more.

Overall - We would stay at Stillman Inn again. The things that didn't meet up with our expectations were little things that didn't affect our stay at all. They were just little extras that would have been fun and for the price we paid for the room we kind of expected the follow through on advertising. However, they weren't required for a delightful stay. 4 stars out of 5 overall.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILTraveler4309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This was not only our first time at a B&B, but it was our mini-honeymoon as well as my husband's birthday...and it was a perfect weekend thanks to Dave (the owner). I wanted to surprise my husband with a cake in his room and asked Dave if he had any ideas as to who could deliver a cake. Wouldn't you know, he went and bought a cake his self and had it put in the room for me! Other perks was wine hour, a homemade breakfast and friendly conversation. By the end of the night he felt more like 'uncle Dave' rather than an Innkeeper. Very personable, sweet and kind couple and we will always return to The Stillman Inn whenever we visit Galena :)

Room Tip: Choose the room with the fireplace and whirlpool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffani J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This was our first experience at a b & b. I was especially hesitant, didn't want to feel like we didn't have our own space but..... our experience was unforgettable. We arrived and were greeted by Dave; he gave us the tour, recommended restaurants etc. Our room was great and breakfast was amazing. Evenings in the courtyard or on the porch with a bottle of wine was relaxing. We recommend Bernadine's Stillman Inn and will be back again ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highwood, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Staying here was our first time ever staying at a B&B. Dave (the innkeeper) was so welcoming and very nice. Breakfast was amazing. We will definately stay here again!

Gina and Nathan

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast and it was great! Dave was very welcoming, but not overwhelming. Our room was very nice and the breakfasts were great. Dave even made reservations at some of the more popular restaurants in Galena for the guests to make sure we were taken care of.

We highly recommend a stay at the Stillman Inn.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REO1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Highly recommend The stillman Inn! The location is in walking distance to main street and Dave and Bernadine could not have been more accomodating!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank drumdan2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.2 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 32 in Galena
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernadine's Stillman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernadine's Stillman Inn

Property: Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Address: 513 Bouthillier St, Galena, IL 61036-2703
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernadine's Stillman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and Historic 1858 French Italiante Bed and Breakfast. Awarded "Best Breakfast In the Midwest" and "Best Innkeeper" among others. We look forward to serving you and helping you get the most out of this attractive destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Bernadine's Stillman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing