We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first stay at a B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Ranked #6 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolingbrook, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Great first stay at a B&B”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast and it was great! Dave was very welcoming, but not overwhelming. Our room was very nice and the breakfasts were great. Dave even made reservations at some of the more popular restaurants in Galena for the guests to make sure we were taken care of.

We highly recommend a stay at the Stillman Inn.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REO1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    63
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
490
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Highly recommend The stillman Inn! The location is in walking distance to main street and Dave and Bernadine could not have been more accomodating!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank drumdan2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We loved our stay at Bernadine's Stillman Inn. Dave was very welcoming and helpful with everything. Said to call him at any time for help around the town. The room was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts were delicious! Met our every expectation. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is a very nice B & B. Our room was recently updated and had a "antique" feel to the room. The windows did not open and the air conditioner was very loud, so it made for some "stuffy" sleeping. The bathroom was quite small and the toilet was very loud. Yes, I know this is a older home. The morning breakfast was well done, and we thoroughly enjoyed the conversation with the other guests. Dave joined us for the breakfast conversation. We did not see Bernadine. Overall it was a nice getaway at a great location.

Room Tip: You might want to upgrade to one of the three rooms with the hot tub--those bathrooms appear to be l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Excellent experience! Dave & Bernadine make you feel at home and do a great job of introducing you to other guests to make everyone feel at ease. They are most helpful in all regards. Great breakfast too. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sc867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galesburg,il
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Dave and Bernadine's for our 1st time at a B&B and had a very good time.Having been our 1st B&B stay don't have anything to compare it to,but Its hard to imagine any being a whole lot better.Dave was very helpful in showing us a map of the city as it was our 1st time there.My wife enjoyed the expierience and we will definitely be going again.Really enjoyed breakfast and enjoyed visiting with other guests.Thanks Dave and Bernadine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

One of the best B&B's we have stayed in! Dave & Bernadine made our stay feel like home. Breakfasts were great! Our room was perfect. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmArty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
839 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 32 in Galena
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernadine's Stillman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernadine's Stillman Inn

Property: Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Address: 513 Bouthillier St, Galena, IL 61036-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernadine's Stillman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and Historic 1858 French Italiante Bed and Breakfast. Awarded "Best Breakfast In the Midwest" and "Best Innkeeper" among others. We look forward to serving you and helping you get the most out of this attractive destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Bernadine's Stillman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing