We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Staff was exceptional! Helped us with faxing business that needed attention. Rooms were well taken care of. The decor was updated with nice warm colors since our last visit. Close enough to town to drive a short distance and close enough to a few historic homes nearby, such as the Ryan Mansion and the Avery House. It was fun to see the renovation of the Ryan Mansion next door from our last visit. The pillows were down and flat, the bed we melted in, they were so comfortable. So many activities, kayaking,canoeing, bicycle riding,
scooters to the vineyards. A wonderful river trail for hiking is being extended. There is always shopping if you get bored, plenty of jewelry and antiques, items very unique to the region, pottery, artist haven. Galena is full of great dining places and new breweries. A little piece of heaven with such a wide variety of B and B's and hotels to choose from.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munchkin511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_gala, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2010

We are honored that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you sharing your impressions. We feel comments from our guests are important and are pleased when we live up to our guests expectations. We value your business and look forward to serving you again in the near future when your travels bring you back to Galena.

Sincerely,
Lynette Montes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

877 - 883 of 936 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2010

Overall this was a great little place to stay. The room was comfortable and the staff was helpful and friendly. They even let us put our wedding cake in their fridge since it would not fit in the little one in our room. Our only complaints would be that the pillows were too soft (all feather pillows) and the coffee (granted it was free and always available) was not so great. They did provide us with two additional pillows but I would have preferred some firmer ones. These are only minor issues and would not stop us from staying there again. I'll just bring my own pillow. =D

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZ_Piper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_gala, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2010

On behalf of all of us here at the Galena Country Inn & Suites, we thank you for choosing to stay with us during such a special time. I apologize that you were not made aware that we do offer firmer pillows. During your next stay with us please do not hesitate to request these and we would be happy to place them in your room prior to your arrival. Thank you for sharing your concerns and we hope to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Lynette Montes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

My three daughters and I have stayed at this hotel a number of times in the past few years for our mother-daughter getaway, and always find it neat and clean. Staff is always very friendly and helpful. A very substantial and tasty breakfast also.
The only suggestion I would have is to have a refrigerator in the rooms, as we always seem to have leftovers from eating in the excellent restaurants in Galena!
Had a great time and plan on being back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom04_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_gala, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2010

Thank you for your response from your stay in which you describe your experience here at our hotel. Please be aware we do offer microwaves and refrigerators in all of our suites and plan to add microwaves and refrigerators in all of our guest rooms as we continue our renovations in the future. Thank you again for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Lynette Montes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

A few minutes from downtown, next door to a Walmart, and beautifully appointed, this is a great choice for Galena. We stayed one night and it was a pleasure.
There is a coin laundry onsite and breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadTrip19Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_gala, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2010

I want to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us. We look forward to accommodating you in the future when your travels bring you back to Galena.

Sincerely,
Lynette Montes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Traveled to Galena for one night with toddler and grandparents in tow. Booked 2 rooms of what I think they call a one bedroom suite. I was very pleasantly surprised at how nice the rooms were. Separate living area with pull-out couch, arm chair, dining table, micro/mini-fridge/sink. Bathroom is in this area also. Separate bedroom with 2 queen beds. The level of the furnishings and bedding was very nice - approaching those you expect at a much higher level hotel chain (Hilton/Hyatt, etc.). Large indoor pool with one medium-sized waterslide and a large toddler pool with another small slide and a whirlpool. Not really what I would consider a "waterpark," but definitely a very nice indoor pool. Free Breakfast buffet was very nice. Staff was exceptionally nice across the board. Only complaint was that the A/C in the suite was just the wall unit in the bedroom, so it took quite a while on a 90 degree day to cool the other living area. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_gala, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2010

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business! I am honored that you were impressed with our hotel and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,
Lynette Montes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night. It was very clean, staff were very friendly, and the pool was great for the kids. Walls a little thin, could hear the flushing next door and kids in the hall, but not too bad. The breakfast area was well kept and the attendant very nice, food was good and what was expected. Overall, a very clean, nice hotel..would definitely recommend.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
Thank ChgoGal80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_gala, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2010

Just wanted to let you know we are newly renovated! In order to provide our guests with "quality" accommodations, we have upgraded our hotel. Completed enhancements include an upgrade of all hotel guest rooms and public areas. My staff and I are very excited about our new renovations, and hope that you, our guests, will be pleased with our new look when you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Lynette Montes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

The hotel was very clean as was the pool and the surrounding area. It was a short trip to downtown Galena, and had a WalMart right down the street, so it was very convenient. We had two toddlers with us but even in one room with a pack-n-play and a roll away bed, we were all able to get a good night sleep. The hotel had some nice little amenities like free computer access in the lobby, a stock of books to choose from and cookies upon check-in. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We usually stay in higher star hotels so I had no experience with this chain but if they are all like this, I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brneyedangl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_gala, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2010

Just wanted to let you know we are newly renovated! In order to provide our guests with "quality" accommodations, we have upgraded our hotel. Completed enhancements include an upgrade of all hotel guest rooms and public areas. My staff and I are very excited about our new renovations, and hope that you, our guests, will be pleased with our new look when you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Lynette Montes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Longhollow Point Inn
Longhollow Point Inn
#11 of 11 in Galena
23 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL

Address: 11334 Oldenburg Ln, Galena, IL 61036-8109 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galena
#3 Family Hotel in Galena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range: $77 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Galena
Country Inn & Suites Galena Hotel Galena
Country Inn Galena
Galena Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing