We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11334 Oldenburg Lane, Galena, IL 61036-8104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
1 review
“Very Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a clean, comfortable hotel that nicely met our needs while visiting Galena with the kids. There are lots of nearby bed and breakfast inns, however those aren't a good match for kids. We especially enjoyed the pool with big slide as well as the game room. It kept our 7 and 10 yos busy. The noon checkout was great since it allowed us another half day to swim and a relaxed morning before heading home. The breakfast was good and always nice to have included. Cookies at the desk were a nice touch too. Service was great as well. The hotel is just a few minutes from downtown Galena, which was perfectly fine. The only closer options are small inns.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cpoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    167
    42
    20
    18
See reviews for
222
189
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had an overnight stay in Galena , and have good luck with the country Inn Suites chain.
We were looking forward to enjoying the pool and hot tub. Unfortunately, the pool was down for maintenance. m
But our cheerful desk clerk upgraded us to a jacuzzi suite instead.
The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating, was the noise from the pool exhaust fan, stationed outside our bedroommwindow. A very good value?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank champ7ac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Friendly service even with early check-in. Price was a little high for very simple room. We had the double queen that was very clean and a large bathroom. A very short drive to downtown. The water park was clean and water was great but the hot tub motors need to be replaced they were vibrating my teeth. The breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yatahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Where only going to stay for 2 nights, but so much History in the town we decided to stay for 3 nights. Rooms clean, frendly staff and a very good breakfast. Did not use pool but looked very kids frindly. Had a great dinner at Vinie's. Right downtown, great staff and the great food. On the high side, but well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were able to check in early with a very friendly, efficient front desk. Easy location to get to and from downtown. We had a King suite, nothing fancy, but extremely clean. A descent breakfast provided in the morning, with a very efficient staff keeping food replenished as needed and tables clean. I did think it is a bit overpriced for the type of lodging it is, but also realize it is a busy time of year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The location was excellent. Two miles out of "Galena" main street. The staff very very nice. It was'nt fancy but it was clean and quiet and comfortable. We don't have kids BUT the pool looked fun with a great slide and the breakfast (included in the cost) looked and smelled good. We spent very little time in the room but had a peaceful nights sleep...and I believe thats the point ! I would reccomend it !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmaburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This motel was very, very comfortable. Good location sort of on the edge of town. Very pretty setting, pretty place. Room was wonderful, awesome bed, everything clean. If we had been traveling with kids, they would have had swimmer's nirvana. . . Great place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
8.1 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
8.7 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena
Address: 11334 Oldenburg Lane, Galena, IL 61036-8104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galena
#3 Family Hotel in Galena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Galena
Country Inn & Suites Galena Hotel Galena
Country Inn Galena
Galena Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing