We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ate at Embe for lunch”
Review of Embe

Embe
Ranked #18 of 63 Restaurants in Galena
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Also has a fully stocked bar.
Streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
185 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Ate at Embe for lunch”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

While in Galena we stopped with friends here for lunch. Got the pastrami, corned beef, horderadish mustard and cole slaw sandwich. Was very tasty and waitress was very good waiting on us. Homemade cream of mushroom with artichoke soup was very good. Also got the bread pudding for dessert was very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredelcamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    85
    26
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vonore, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Indulgent snack”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

For an indulgent snack to give you more energy for exploring Galena shops, stop at Embe for a luxurious bread pudding laced with rum sauce & piled high with whipped cream. You won't regret it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JudyWVonoreTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“unfriendly service”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The food was not spectacular. We entered the restaurant which was busy and sat ourselves. Our server came over, didn't wecome us ir give her name gae us menus and walked away. The problem wasn't in receiving or food it was the attitude we got from the server. We finished our just o.k. food and I spoke with the cook. I asked him if I could speak with a manager and he replied their wasn't a manager on duty they are responsible for themselves. I related my unfriendly experience with the server and his only reply was ‘thats what you get on the weekends‘ Apparently they are not concerned with customer service....Would not set foot in this place ever again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little lunch place!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stopped in to Embe for lunch after a referral from a local. I got the Big Joe, which was hot pastrami and swiss with horseradish mustard - yum!

I would have given them 5 stars, except the iced tea was obviously from the day before, and there were no options for sides except for sweet onion chips. They were good, but I would have liked something different.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigRedGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Screaming Embe”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Nice atmosphere though a bit too purple for my taste. Good service and very reasonably priced. I had a Screaming Embe (corned beef and pastrami) sandwich which came with chips. My wife had a roast beef sandwich. Everything was delicious and the portions filled us to where we had no room for bread pudding as much as we really wanted to try it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing