We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Screaming Embe”
Review of Embe

Embe
Ranked #19 of 63 Restaurants in Galena
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Also has a fully stocked bar.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Screaming Embe”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Nice atmosphere though a bit too purple for my taste. Good service and very reasonably priced. I had a Screaming Embe (corned beef and pastrami) sandwich which came with chips. My wife had a roast beef sandwich. Everything was delicious and the portions filled us to where we had no room for bread pudding as much as we really wanted to try it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    86
    26
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good food, good atmosphere for seeing a band, surly and needlassly sarcastic service staff.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Went here Saturday Sept 7 to see a friend of mine's band. From the outset service was cold, even sarcastic. And I don't mean in a good way.
Ordered take out, food good. Too bad the spirit in which it and the drinks served during my visit was so disengaged and dismissive, almost disrespectful.

FYI I tipped 20-30%, throughout the night. That was money wasted.

A bad taste in my mouth? To be sure.

If you don't like working with the public find another job. The non-galena public that is.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank countdebleauchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“suggested by a native”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

i enjoyed the small seating area, and the food was perfectly portioned (not way too large, just enough) and the prices were good. they have a variety of speciality drinks posted, and the whole atmosphere was light and fun. meals are homemade with fresh ingredients. this would be a good option for healthy eaters or dietary needs, and anyone who loves GOOD food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tasty and pricy food, world's smallest sandwich.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Stop in Galena for a day and this place was recommended. Ordered lunch special sandwich which was like the size of a biscuit served with potato chips and salad. Food was tasty but the the sandwich was just 2 bites or one big bite. Not worth the money. Bread pudding was good for dessert. 2 cups of soup and a soda totaled to $25! Not a good value for small amount of food. Service was quick and attentative. I will spend my dollars elsewhere next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelprn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

First stop in Galena was for lunch. This restaurant was really good and a great lunch and start to our visit in Galena. Highly recommend for lunch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing