We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Otto's Place

Otto's Place
Ranked #1 of 62 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Breakfast and Lunch
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had never been to Galena before, and decided to have lunch at Otto's based on reviewer recommendations. Had a great lunch. Mom had the banana bread french toast - amazing! And very reasonable prices. Would definitely come back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaiidream72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    125
    28
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredonia, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Galena offers many special eating opportunities, but for a typical Galena trip back in time with a surprisingly delicious reward within its walls I highly recommend a lunch or dinner reservation at Otto’s Place. The understated building is located directly across the street from the old railroad station gives the restaurant a nice separation from the hustle and bustle of downtown Galena while offering tons of parking. But, that’s not why I’ve taken the time to drop this note. What Otto’s has to offer is a great chef that takes on his mission in life as a flavor driven art form. We’ve been back four times and each time was thoroughly enjoyed. If John is there your experience will be raised another notch. You can’t miss him. He stands at least 6'6" and has a personality to match his height. If you are a vodka martini fan ask John for a Death’s Door Vodka martini (made in Door County Wisconsin). Otto’s is one of those places that make a trip to Galena worth the drive. We will be back again and again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An unexpected find in Galena!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were on the road and my friend knew about Galena. We found Otto's place online. What a gem!!! It is in a charming old building with a fabulous story about the birth of the restaurant (the story is right on the menu). Everything about the ambiance was inviting. They had a dinner menu on the table and we almost cancelled the rest of our trip that day so we could stay for dinner, too! We had brunch and it was FABULOUS!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank adancewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were told by our tour guide at Blaum Brothers that Otto's was great place for breakfast and he was right. I had the quiche of the day which was light and different and delicious. My boyfriend had the biscuits and gravy which he devoured. We will be back!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank archieandmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Galena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Not only was it a freshly prepared and delicious main meal, served quickly and followed up often....it offered the best dang 6 layer lemon icebox cake I have ever enjoyed. This will be a regular.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Otto's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing