We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast all day”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Otto's Place

Otto's Place
Ranked #1 of 62 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Breakfast and Lunch
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast all day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Had received recommendation to try the Chicken Salad Sandwich but they only serve breakfast all day on the weekend. Still very yummy! Egg Tacos!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 438heidib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    125
    31
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Eat here at least one morning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had breakfast here two of the four mornings we were in Galena. Very imaginative menu and daily specials. Charming atmosphere with great friendly service! Some of our favorites: cinnamon bread French toast, sticky buns and omelets.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DLPlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quality food, best breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Otto's is our favorite breakfast spot. Unique, quality food. Limited seating, you may have to wait but the food is absolutely worth it. Just go upstairs, grab a mug of great coffee, and get comfy in their cozy lounge area. Try one of the daily specials if you can otherwise the egg tacos or corned beef hash are outstanding.

Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Terrific find off the beaten path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Enjoyed breakfast here on recommendation of our Inn. It was a lovely walk up the steps to the walking bridge and over the river to the residential area on the other side of Main St so no crowds milling about. Bonus- on the way we discovered a lovely park- Grant Park. Food is locally sourced, house made and delicious. We had delicious buttermilk and whole wheat pancakes- can order one as a sub for toast- with our omelette and eggs "your way". Also tried the house made coffee cake which was a treat. The only thing that wasn't perfect was the fruit cup which I selected in place of potato. It was the usual chunks of melon, pineapple, grapes etc & had sat too long in juices. Fresh berries would have pleased me more. It's in an old building with plenty of windows so natural light and lovely views all around you. Service was very friendly. Very nice relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Go_Ask_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
409 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Superior food at reasonable prices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We have enjoyed breakfast here a few times. Off the main drag from main street, but still very convenient. Great decor, friendly staff, excellent breakfast. The quiche is hands down the best around, homemade coffee cake quite yummy and steel cut oatmeal with fruit and nuts is delicious. Prices are unbelievably reasonable. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
3 Thank christine102262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Otto's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing