We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the Bridge!”
Review of Otto's Place

Otto's Place
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Breakfast and Lunch
Knife River, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Take the Bridge!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Walk across the bridge for breakfast at Otto's! We walked the river trail and stopped in for a cozy early morn coffee and meal. The egg tacos and whole wheat pancakes are recommended. Reasonable prices with a local but gourmet feel. We were happy to know that local food is used as much as possible. The evening menu sounds wonderful as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KnifeRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    128
    32
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brimfield IL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Is this really one of the better restaurants in Galena?”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Well, my wife and I both had their special turkey and bacon sandwiches with chips.
Out of the package turkey, 3-4 slices that they popped onto the bread, crisp but cold bacon, the avocado "spread" was a quickie squizzle of mashed avocado-looking stuff with no flavor.
We were both expecting a nice warm sandwich, toasted bread, melted cheese, avocado slices, mayonnaise......................... Nope none of that.

It was our first and last time at Otto's. Sorry

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank themorefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Locals favorite (highly recommended)”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I am always interested in restaurants that are recommended by locals. These are usually the "gems" of the community. Otto's Place did not disappoint. Excellent breakfast, fresh fruit, good coffee and a wait staff that was extremely friendly and quick on coffee refills. Next time we are in Galena, we will need to try the dinner menu.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dlobx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“On a snow afternoon”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Visit on a snowy Monday afternoon. Quiet with table next to window overlooking the old Galena Train Station on the one side and the back of Main Street Galena on the far side.

We ordered breakfast omlette, food was great and price was very reasonable. Spent like 2 hours there soak into the atmosphere. This place is not far from Main Street Galena and yet it does not has the feel of tourism.

Interesting story on how the owner named it "Otto's Place". If you want to spend a quiet, inexpensive, lay-back and relexed weekday afternoon, this is the place to be.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Otto's Place is not much to look at from outside but is sparkling on the inside. My husband and I chose Otto's because of proximity to our B&B for dinner. The menu is not long, but has something many will enjoy. The food is absolutely delicious, I had chicken kabobs and the yogurt sauce which were scrumptious. We enjoyed our server and conversation with the owner so much we chose to return the next day for lunch. Excellent sandwich choices, I can say the chicken salad was among the best I have had. The restaurant is located close to the information center and the river walk, not on Main Street. Certainly worth a visit

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seiztheday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Otto's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing