We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even better the second and third times around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Otto's Place

Otto's Place
Ranked #1 of 62 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Breakfast and Lunch
Galena,IL
Level Contributor
140 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Even better the second and third times around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Have been back for breakfast twice in the past few weeks, so I can confidently say that the quality at Otto's is also consistency. What a great combination, if only more restaurants would aim for consistent quality. I had the quiche of the day each time and it was wonderful. The crust is flaky yet rich and buttery in flavor. The cheese was nicely integrated into the eggs, adding another layer of rich flavor. They serve the quiche with fresh fruit that is seasonally selected. I would go for a side of the local applewood smoked bacon, well worth the splurge. My husband loved his whole wheat pancakes and my friend enjoyed her french toast. Being a big open room with no sound absorbing surfaces, it can be noisy and a bit hard to hear your own conversation above those of others seated nearby.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MLH828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    125
    28
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonfield, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely stop for lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Wonderful meal, interesting atmosphere, excellent service by very nice folks. Nice location away from the downtown area but only a short drive away across from the train station.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pingree Grove, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Brunch time breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Pros: Amazing food, cool atmosphere.
Flaws: They have one of the double doors locked, which I jammed my knee on...and is also a fire code violation. The server was terrible and they don't have free drink refils. They use cans of soda. Kind of crammed, but the large windows and great atmosphere around help you forget about it quickly.

The food was the best breakfast food I've ever had in my life. Doesn't compare to the other breakfast restaurants. The portion size is large, but not ridiculous. You can tell all the food products were HIGH QUALITY! Definately a go again place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville, Iowa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and great people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were in Galena for only 2 nights and stopped at Otto's for lunch first thing based on all the great reviews. We loved our food, the service, and the beautiful restaurant. We split the House Salad with Chicken, outstanding! and the Chicken Salad Sandwich, wonderful! We enjoyed the food so much we came back for lunch the next day. We shared the same salad again and also one of the specials, the Breakfast Tacos. The tacos were very good. We decided to stop again at lunchtime on our way out of town the next day. We decided to share the House Salad with Chicken again. It has such a beautiful mix of fresh organic greens with walnuts, cranberries, apples, and goat cheese. The balsamic vinaigrette was wonderful. We also decided to try the Banana Bread French Toast since there had been good reviews for that. It was so good we decided we needed to order a second serving. The inside of the building was beautifully remodeled, comfortable and relaxing. The staff is very friendly and we had wonderful conversations with several people including one of the owners, John. This will always be place we will be excited visit. Wish we could have this restaurant at home!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HateTravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

After a crazy Galena Craft Fair weekend we enjoyed a hearty breakfast at Otto's on Monday as we were leaving town. Food was great, as was the service. Only comment is that it is not very child friendly. No boosters seats to be had, while Dad was struggling to feed the 2 year old on his lap. Definitely caters to a more sedate crowd as their literature on the tables states....they really appreciate peace and quiet.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kathysaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otto's Place also viewed

 

Been to Otto's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing