We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Talapia Sandwich” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Market House Restaurant

The Market House Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 62 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At The Market House Restaurant we focus on the dinner table with homemade food like mom and grandma use to make. We are Family Run by three sisters and a brother and enjoy helping others to share in their good times. We hope you enjoy our quaint and friendly atmosphere and that your experience is one you'll never forget.
Galena, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Talapia Sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

I recently went in for a bite to eat and the lady working there suggested the tilapia sandwich with some crab salad that had walnuts and cranberries you could add if you wanted. It was very good and the service was courteous and prompt. I will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brierwreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    70
    31
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We drove up here this past Ssturday just to have lunch here. We have been here several times and we are never disappointed! We had the Cabernet burger, which was awesome. We also go here specifically for the crab salad , which is the best crab salad we have ever had!!!! We will definitely return!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaredsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I had a very nice lunch in Galena at the Market House Restaurant. The upstairs dining room is small but very nice with a lovely bar. The sandwiches that we had were very good with fresh ingredients. There was a nice choice of beverages to compliment the food.
The Market House is a great place to stop and recover from a busy day of shopping and sight seeing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming Ambience/ Delicious Food ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has old fashioned charm combined with great food.

The owner even took the time to answer our questions about the building.

We really enjoyed the food and the service, and we recommend this restaurant. Check out the specials before ordering.

Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2,598 reviews
1,434 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,668 helpful votes
“Make room for the Mud Slide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

There are so many good restaurants in historic Galena, Illinois. How many towns with populations of 3,500 can you say that about? But Galena is a tourist haven with more than 1 million visitors a year so the food has to be good--and it is. Most of the first-rate restaurants we were familiar with were still in business since our last trip to General Grant's hometown. And some new ones have joined the competition for the tourist dollar. One of the good old standbys is the Market House restaurant on Perry Street. Of course, you enter on 120 N. Main Street across from the Elks Lodge. Confused? Just ask. Everybody knows where it is. It's open from 11 to 9 Monday through Saturday and the menu doesn't lack for anything. Start your entree with the salad of your choice and a Cracker Basket with homemade pate and garlic parmesan spread. Create your own combination platter by adding crab Louis salad shrimp, scallops, grilled chicken, grilled duck, BBQ ribs or sauteed vegetables. And that's only the beginning. The menu features beef, pork, poultry, seafood, pasta, burgers, salads and sandwiches. I opted for grilled salmon while my wife had a slow-roasted Reuben. "Save room for our famous mud slide," the advertisement states. It's a dessert you have to save a spot in your stomach for. What's interesting about all of the restaurants in Galena is they each have a signature dish or something they hang their hat on. Market House certainly has its own identity.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Market House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Market House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing