We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food”

Woodlands Restaurant at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #33 of 63 Restaurants in Galena
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: West Wachter Drive
Transit: Resort shuttles are available for all of our golf villas and distinct homes.
LaSalle, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really good food”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We love the breakfast buffet and have also ordered from the menu - lots of good selections. Dinner at the Woodlands is always a treat. The chef always has a something special and it is delicious!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    27
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Detail becomes Woodlands”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The best in Galena Territory. All meals are presented with little touches that make your mouth water.Staff is very helpful and friendly.Sunday buffets are delicious,and overeating some is permitted as you need to sample each food prepared. Will be going back this September just to enjoy the company of staff ( food included ) :)

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dolores C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappoiting”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Very, very slow service, cold food that even if hot, was borderline.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible Night”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We had six women and a reservation for dinner. We arrived to find the hostess in a sweatsuit. We were seated at a nice table. That is the best part of the night. We were ignored and warned that we needed to give our order because 60 people just walked in. We put in our order and received our salads, wine and bread right away. An hour and a half later we still did not have our meals. When they finally did come, two of us sent the tuna back, one steak was black when ordered medium rare and sent back and two were ice cold. We had no one filling glasses or even coming to clear our table. I would be hard pressed to remember such a bad experience at a restaurant. The manager offered to buy dessert - we just laughed. He ended up comping all the meals except one. We paid for the wine and one meal and even then felt like we were ripped off. Two of us left without eating at all! We understand being understaffed with the 60 walk-ins but we had a reservation and the 60 came in after us so why were ignored while they serviced people who did not even have a reservation. Maybe those 60 (probably men) should have been made to wait as long as we did. I guess the manager chose them over us. One of our party is an owner in Galena Territory. Not only did they lose 6 customers that night but the owner will never bring anyone there again and we will continue to warn others of this restaurant. By the way, we ate at Spike's the next night (Galena Territory sister restaurant to Woodlands) and it was terrific. Good food, great service and a fun atmosphere. No competition if you are choosing a place to eat and want to stay on the property. Go with Spike's. Manager of Woodlands was Steve - he was the worst manager we have ever encountered but Kevin at Spike's is great.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Sunday Brunch at the Woodlands is a most while visiting Galena, IL. There are plenty of choices for all and the mimosas just kept coming. I particularly enjoyed the prime rib and the omelette station.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank GF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodlands Restaurant at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa also viewed

 

Been to Woodlands Restaurant at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing