We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, service and views.”
Review of Goldmoor Dining

Goldmoor Dining
Reserve with OpenTable
Goldmoor Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 63 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Black Jack Road
Description: Unmatched Old World decor, a diverse wine cellar, and premier personal service are all complemented by our chef"s creative cuisine. Enjoy dining in one of our cozy booths or elegant tables with breathtaking views overlooking the Mississippi River.
Chicago Il
Level Contributor
98 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, service and views.”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had a very nice dinner, was not rushed, great wine and views of the Mississippi. We will return the next time we are in the area. The trout was fabulous.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keekeechicagoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    45
    12
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Illinois
1 review
“Outstanding evening”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The food and service were excellent. We started with the Wild Mushroom Bruschettay which was outstanding. My wife and daughter had the Beef Wellington, I had the Ribeye. We had a terrific evening and will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beef Wellington, beautiful views!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Signe, our waitress, was the best! The beef wellington and wine were also fabulous. We will definitely be back!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLynDallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gourmet meal in Galena”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were celebrating our anniversary and called the day before to make a reservation after some research on this site. The person on the phone was very helpful. It is not difficult to find, just follow the directions. It was light out when we drove there and we were glad of that as it was overcast with only a sliver of moon out. It is dark out there with a capital D until you get near the hotel and restaurant complex. Every seating had a large window to observe the sunset had it not been raining and I'll bet that would be beautiful from the bluff overlooking the river there. Meal was delicious - prime rib, beef Wellington. Desserts yummy - we had a cheesecake with blueberries and lemon topping. I know...how could we after a meal that sumptuous (I boxed up half of my prime rib to take home). Wait staff very attentive and we had a very relaxing meal. Would recommend this for a couple or a small party of adults.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dippydiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Crest, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our breakfast was delicious, and our dinner (my husband enjoyed the bone-in ribeye steak and I had the salmon) was outstanding.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Goldmoor Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing