We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame on hotel staff/owners”
Review of Palace Campground

Palace Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palace Campground
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed this last weekend and my 9-year-old nephew fractured a bone in his foot when he fell off the diving board and hit it on the side of the pool. The hotel staff (think they were the owners) were working on the pool tarp at the time it happened and they did not even ask if he was okay, could we use some ice, nothing! We walked right by them as we carried him to the car, sobbing. Not a word. So, just know that you are on your own if something happens while you are there.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 54 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stay at the Palace quiet a bit, because we love spending time with our family and friends. This is just the place to do so. we have stayed here both on busy holiday weekend and on a slow more quiet week. Even though they are busy with everything, on busy holidays, they still go out of their way to make you comfortable and happy. We stayed in a full hook-up site on the fourth of July last year. Yes, they were busy, but they did everything to meet our needs. The sites are perfect sizes and you really could fix almost anything in them. Our kids had a great time and always ask to go back and see Spider in the office. We sure do love this place and hate to see the bad reviews, just because of wi-fi.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We have been big rig camping at this campground for 23 years and it is our favorite in all the area. Very clean and I like watching the progress and expansion. Our daughter learned how to swim in the pool and our son learned how to ride his 2 wheel bike on the blacktop. They are very nice and helpful. We will hopefully be able to have a permanent site soon. We have a 40 ft motorhome and we do not have any problems getting in most sites we have a couple favorites. Our only problem through out the years has been rude, unfriendly outside guests that were allowed to swim during the weekend when it was already packed, but they seem to watch for these problems and take care of it. It takes us under 3 hours to get here and we look forward to our next weekend trip. I am so excited to think about bringing my grandsons here and reliving the good times.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

When we arrived, the office was busy with one attendant on duty. Still, he did his job in a friendly, professional manner. We rented a camping cabin. It has air conditioning, ceiling fan, queen size bed with a comfortable mattress, small kitchen table with two chairs. Unlike the picture I had looked at before I rented the cabin, this cabin had an interior of Pine Wayne's Coating and Varnished Pine Boards. The cabin was clean and very comfortable. Plenty of space between our cabin and the next. Though the campground was full, everyone quieted down by 10pm. I didn't feel the need to hire on security. Maybe we just hit it right for our weekend stay was quiet. There were plenty of shower stalls and bathrooms in both the mens and womens. If there is one area where extra TLC is needed, it is the shower/bathrooms. Though the bathrooms were clean, new countertops, sinks, mirrors and safety outlets are needed. Also, fresh paint would really set off the bathrooms. As they are now, the floors are bare cement and there are a lot of marks on the walls. We would stay here again if we visited the area.

Room Tip: My wife and I have stayed at many KOA Kamping Kabins. These cabins were similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DreamChasers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Staff very helpful and friendly. The campground was very well maintained and ALOT of room for tent camping. Not sure how the RV part of the grounds were though. We didn't get the opportunity to use the pool because on the day that we stayed, even though the hours of the pool said until 9pm, the staff said they were going to close at 8pm for cleaning. Given the general hours of the pool, I would think this could be done during non-pool hours. Quiet place overall.

My one HUGE concern is the creepy guy that maintained the shower/restroom facilities. They need to have a woman taking care of the woman shower/restroom area. The guy they had kept walking ALL THE WAY INTO THE BUILDING as he was yelling "anyone in here?" He repeated this process for over an hour and 1/2. He saw women walking in and he kept going in as he pretended to not know they were in there. Seriously, someone needs to arrest him. He appears to be using his position as maintenance staff to be a peeping tom. I wouldn't let your children use facilities without an adult.

$22/night for tent camping is a little pricey. I assume that was because there was a pool but because we were not allowed to use it, we should have only had to pay the going rate of $8-12/night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IowaFlatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

If you go to this campground be prepared to be packed in like sardines. You don't even have room to park your truck. You barely have enough room to put your awning out. The people in the office were not very friendly. The fire pits are non-existent. There is a bare spot on the ground. The problem is you are so close together a fire is actually very dangerous. We didn't even try since it was windy and there is nothing to stop the fire from spreading. The biggest problem we had was their website says WIFI available. The only place they have WIFI is at the office. Very misleading. We will not stay there again. In fact we left a day early even though we had already paid for it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank robynest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Security is non-existent at this campground. Once the office staff leaves, there is no one to patrol or keep people out. There was a huge drunken party going on until 2AM, no one from the office would answer and no office staff was able to be found. Thus, had to call the cops, which is ridiculous, even state parks, for 1/2 the money have security.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Dude_Wilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.3 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
5.6 mi away
Galena Log Cabin Getaway
8.5 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Campground

Address: 11357 W US Highway 20, Galena, IL 61036-8212
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Galena
Number of rooms: 145

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing