We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Regular Stop in Galena!”

Gobbies Sports Pub and Eatery
Ranked #8 of 62 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ph:
Hinsdale, Illinois
1 review
“Our Regular Stop in Galena!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our family travels to Galena often and Gobbies is always on our list to stop in and eat at! We love the relaxed pub atmosphere and how enjoyable it is to sit out on the beautiful patio in the warm months. The food is always great, and there is a ton of it which is an added bonus when you have three kids. All meals come with a complimentary salad and beer nuggets, (the kids favorite) we love the nachos and the pizza. We have always been seated quickly and the servers have always worked hard to make sure we have whatever we need. Overall a great place!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    189
    62
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Always a great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

I travel frequently and try to make sure I always stop by Gobbie's when I am in the Galena area. The restaurant is always clean and has a great atmosphere. More importantly the staff is friendly, the food is tasty, and the portions are generous. You will definitely have leftovers! I also highly recommend having a drink on their outdoor patio in the summer.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rae W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
1 review
“cockroach on table”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Went to Gobbie's for lunch and ordered a pizza and boneless wings. Meal came with salad and beer nuggets. After having a slice of pizza I noticed a bug on scurrying across the table. I was able to squish it with my water glass and discovered it was a cockroach. This is extremely disturbing since it is winter and it was on my table. We called over the restaurant manager/owner and notified him and left. He offered us a gift card, but after this experience I will not be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braidwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unfortunate and Disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Gobbies did provide a first time experience for me. I had never seen a cock roach in a restaurant until this past Saturday. The thing scurried across the table as we were eating our pizza. We actually "trapped" it and were able to show it to one of the owners.
On the bright side (I guess) the owner apologized profusely. He obviously comped the meal and then offered some gift certificates, which were declined. No need to ever go back.
Whatever atmosphere and charm the place may have had went right out the window. Gross.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun time, good drinks, decent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Gobbies is your typical sports bar. Fun, loud, a variety of beers on tap and decent food. A lot of people rave about the pizza, but I think that it is just okay. The beer nuggets (deep fried pizza dough) are fun. It's a good place to go with friends & have a fun time. There is also a shuffle board in back, which is a plus!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gobbies Sports Pub and Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Gobbies Sports Pub and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing