We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken better than the hamburger??”
Review of Durty Gurt's

Durty Gurt's
Ranked #7 of 63 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Chicken better than the hamburger??”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I've been here a few times and always replace the burger for chicken and ive never had a bad meal here. This past time I ordered the Rueben and had the corned beef replaced with chicken and it was great!!! My husband, sister and brother in law have felt the burgers were a bit overcooked!! All in all its a good lunch place!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jbelle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    234
    100
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“huge burger”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The burgers here are huge. The meat was moist and juicy. We ordered the"shut the front door" burger. A juicy burger between two glazed donuts, with cheese and bacon. Ate the whole thing....pretty good. Loved that their fries are fresh and home made. Service was good considering we came in just before they closed for the evening. The owner was there and took the time to explain the history of the resturant and some of the other resturants she owns and have opened. Very nice person.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinning out”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by the tour guide. Excellent food and the hostess was very attentive. Clean, neat and great atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimncorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, good fun!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Had a fun time at Durty Gurts! The atmosphere was fun and the food good. We had lunch, but I'm sure dinner time would be just as good! We'd go back for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“VERY DISAPPOINTED”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

every time we go to Galena, we go to Dirty Gurts first. we LOVE the bbq pulled pork sandwich. we have been going there for YEARS 5 to 6 times a year, (3 1/2 hrs away). we had to wait 30 nins, not a big deal, but when we were seated, the waitress had no clue what we were talking about when we ordered our usual bbq pulled pork. the waitress snapped at us and WE DONT HAVE THAT ANY MORE!, we were saddened by the news, the waitress then said JUST HAVE THE BBQ BEEF. all we wanted was the bbq pulled pork. so my wife ordered soup, my oldest daughter ordered a salad, and my younger daughter ordered another sandwich, we all ordered drinks, we got our drinks, then waited 30 min, and after watching another couple recieve their food,,,( after beeing seated about 10 mins after us) we over heard the waitress say to the couple,,,We are not very busy today, we asked the waitress,,, where is our food? sh snapped back saying WE'RE BUSY! we decided to leave and asked for our check, we did get that very quick, but no apology from the waitress, or DEE DEE the manager. we had in the past ALWAYS recieved good service, and good food. but this time we recieved a poor attitude. i can see if we were rude, or loud, but wer were nice, and polite.
DIRTY GURTS, you lost us as patrons. HOW DARE YOU! after all these years.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJJ411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durty Gurt's also viewed

 

Been to Durty Gurt's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing