We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lunch spot!”
Review of Durty Gurt's

Durty Gurt's
Ranked #7 of 63 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Sandwich, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great lunch spot!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stopped here for lunch on a Saturday before heading out! I got a Bacon Cheeseburger. It was a 1/2 lb burger and was excellent! The burger was not greasy and the fries were very good as well. The atmosphere was pretty neat as it had a bunch of sarcastic signs everywhere to read.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    240
    101
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“hospitable but ordinary”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nothing special about the food, but it was inexpensive. Decor was amusing, many clever sayings on the walls.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank grammerjammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
115 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“lots of fun and good food”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We eat at durty gurts for lunch and save the log cabin and vinnie vanuccis for dinner. Durty Gurts has a fun atmosphere and the food has always been great too! If you are traveling with kids, this is must!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nikicox1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Comfort Food in a Fun Atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Don't be scared off if it looks like just a bar when you walk in. They have plenty of tables. Great place for families with kids. Super informal, but a huge menu with good quality and variety. Went in with 10 for lunch. They had no trouble seating or serving us. My burger was huge and tasty. They have a bunch of milkshakes and a variety of non-burger comfort food. Not a place for steak, but a variety of good food at reasonable prices with friendly servers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nekoosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Durty Gurt's Rocks It!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were a little hesitant to go here as it looked like just another storefront eatery. We were WRONG. It is a fun place! Very friendly and casual. The burgers are huge and delicious. The shakes are to die for. This place is a definite stop for our next trip to Galena.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Durty Gurt's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing