We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Durty Gurt's

Durty Gurt's
Ranked #7 of 62 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Ottawa, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

A fun place to eat for lunch. The burgers were great and the atmosphere was fun. Highly recommend for a great burger.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    233
    98
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This place makes you laugh with their signs, but the food is serious business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was a great place to take the kids. Our family of eight was promptly seated so we didn't have to wait by the toilet seat in the front of the store (wink!). The server was very courteous and friendly - recommended the right things for us to choose from. The kids has a blast. The burgers were big and juicy, well-seasoned, and served hot on a great bun. You have to try the fries here - excellent seasoning.

The place is loud but not over the top. It's great ambiance. Good value for the money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FBarillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storm Lake, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Visited this place while vacationing in Galena. The service is friendly and very conversational. They make you feel welcome there. I ordered the Raspberry Blues salad (very good!!) and my husband ordered the bacon cheeseburger with homestyle fries. He loved his burger and especially the fries....truly homemade. No lies there! Decent price and would eat there again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So so, wouldnt go again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Tried DG for lunch on a Saturday. Had to wait in line to be seated. Then had to wait to have our drink orders taken. Took 30 min to get our food, burgers, chili dog, and salad. Waitress kept apologizing for the " party in back". Burgers were ok, chili dog ok, crab salad ok, but piled on spinach leaves, wasn't too attractive or tasty. Burgers are piled high with lots of stuff, but the burger itself was pretty bland and tasteless.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank USNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Abysmal service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The burger menu is expansive and has pretty much any combo you could want. That said, they don't ask how you want the burger cooked, so if you like it well done like me, you're out of luck. It took them 15 minutes to take my order after I sat down, and another hour to cook the burgers. When they finally came, we were never asked how the food was and our drinks were never refilled. Hopefully, for the sake of the business, we just caught them on an off day. Otherwise I won't be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JakePrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durty Gurt's also viewed

 

Been to Durty Gurt's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing